Meatball Alphabet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
If I had rated this the day I made it, I would have given it 3 stars. I thought it was missing something. It also took me much, much longer than the times given by the recipe. 20 min prep??? Really? With all that chopping and meatball prep? I also thought it needed to simmer longer, I gave it another half hour. Needed a large addition of ground black pepper for my tastes and a tad salt. But it tasted soooo much better the next day and I am loving the leftovers. The meatballs were very good, I think it could use about a third more but not necessary. Didn't have quick cook oatmeal for the meatballs so used some bread crumbs and that worked fine. I added Tuscan kale, zucchini, and frozen green beans for nutrition and flavor. Also used ditalini instead of alphabet pasta. When using pasta in soups (if larger than alphabet or little stars like this ditalini) I have gotten in the habit of cooking it outside the soup, then adding just before serving and refrigerating the pasta separate from the soup for leftovers and adding just before reheating. That way the pasta doesn't soak up all the soup liquid and become mushy and turn the soup into stew. This is a very good, healthy, hearty meal for when you are craving hot tomato and veggie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was pretty good. I had to change it a bit due to what I had on hand, but it was tasty. The meatballs were very good (I used ground beef). I added some extra seasonings per our taste. I would have given it 5 stars, but my kids were only fans of the meatballs and ABC pasta. Husband and I enjoyed it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I added all the veggies direclty to the broth and cooked them. I didn't have ABC noddles, so I used elbow. I baked my meatballs in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes. Then added them. I think the meatballs could have used more seasoning though. Kind of bland. Next time I am going to add onion, garlic powder, parmesan, italian bread crumbs & worcestershire sauce to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
i had to add worcestershire sauce and and a ton more seasoning to get some flavor in the broth. this was really bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I made this exactly per the recipe the first time and it was great. Second time I added sweet potatoes and red lentils. Just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Delicious!! I did double the meatballs though as everyone loves them! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This soup is so good. Its of my favorites now. I made it exactly as written. I froze the leftovers in little containers for work. It re-heated really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
this is EXCELLENT and very healthy soup! so hearty and spiced wonderfully! i made it JUST as written--thanks for this great fall soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was delicious! I used Italian sausage seasoning in the turkey instead of the various ingredients in the recipe (it ends up being basically the same thing...just more of a sausage flavor). I also used bread crumbs in place of oats. I did everything else the same way, except using orzo pasta in place of alphabet. The whole family ate it right up...I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingdom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yum! I was looking for a filling yet low fat soup and this one is perfect! I used what vegetables I had on hand and Rotini pasta. The soup would have been just as good without the pasta. I didn't use the tomatoe paste and I used a large can of crushed tomatoes instead of diced tomatoes. I think this is a recipe that you can change in many ways, but it always turns out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States