Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Loved this recipe and the spices in it. I didn't have allspice so I used cinnamon only. It was very tasty. Next time I will the allspice too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I too have been searching for a recipe like my Memere use to make. The issue that I'm having is keep the meat pie together without mashing the potatoes. My Memere always cubed her potatoes and did not use any type of cracker/instant potato flakes to keep it together. This recipe has all the ingredients minus the cinnamon,paprika and onion which my Memere did not use. I did double up on the spices as suggested by another review--other than that it was good--I'm going to continue to try and get my pie to stay together just like my Memere's Tourtiere. thanks Maggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I made this wonderful tourtiere twice over the Christmas season. I used frozen pie crust because pastry scares the bejesus out of me. The pie is absolutely perfect, however I do recommend going with the 1lb of pork to 1/2lb of beef ratio that others have reccomended. I tried it both with this mix and with all pork, and we preferred the flavour with the beef mixed in. Everything else should be left exactly as is. A bit time consuming, but totally worth it for the holidays. By the way, it makes more like 6 servings, not 8, unless you are making it as part of a buffet. Thanks for the new Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Very good! It just is not Christmas without this wonderful meat pie. I lost my own recipe and was very upset, then I tried allrecipes, yeah!!!! We will now have a great Christmas Supper. Instead of baking a potato, I grate a raw one right in with the meat mixture, 1/2 pork and 1/2 ground turkey and added more of the spices. Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I love making this! My Aunt makes it every year for our traditional Christmas meal. I can't imagine Christmas any other way. I'll also make the meat filling as another form of stuffing for Thanksgiving. We usually make the recipe with half pork and half beef. And I know this sounds crazy, but if you don't want to make the potatos, to save time, I use instant to get the consistancy that I need for the filling. No one ever knows the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I am french canadian and meat pie has been a family tradition for years, made by my Memere's, but is a long lost art as we have americanized our traditions. I made it this thanksgiving with the help of my Aunt and she says leave out the cinnamon but use more allspice in it's place, do not add water, and add the potato after you cook the meat, little by little until you feel it is perfect for you. I did 2 pies, one this one way and one her way, and she was right. But both were very tasty and did not last the night. Will definetly be making again for Christmas Eve. Thanks! UPDATE: TO THE REVIEW WHO'S PIE HAD CHUNKS OF POTATO, SAVE ONE POTATO FOR DICIING BUT USE THE REMAINING POTATOES FOR MASHING INTO THE MEAT. THE POTATOS IS THE TRICK FOR KEEPING THE MEAT FROM BEING CRUMBLY..UPDATE #2, USE HALF PORK, HALF GROUND BEEF. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I substituted ground beef for the pork and I cooked and drained the fat from the meat, but otherwise it was pretty much the same. I think baking the potatoes really made a difference. I didn't have too high of hopes for this recipe; I thought it would just be something different to try, and I was really surprised at how good it was! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I wasn't sure what to expect. The flavor was a bit unusual, but my husband and I loved it. I froze it - nice to have on hand. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Perfect!! I too used 1/2 pork & 1/2 hamburg. Hubby said it tasted just like the pies his grandmother used make. (He even called his mother to tell her!) Thanks for the post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
delicious! but, as suggested by other reviews, I greatly recommend doubling all the spices. I doubled them all, and the flavours were just right. I'd also replaced the pork with grounded beef and turky. tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States