Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Tastes just like my Memere's pork pie. Thank you so much for this recipe. I do have my Memere's recipe however a lot of it is according to her taste buds. The women in the Marquis family get together before the holiday season to make about 12 of these pies. But sadly my family is in New England and I am in Illinois so it was nice to have a taste of home here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very good. Growing up, we would have this after midnight mass every Christmas. My memere didn't have a "written" recipe but this one comes very close. I'm glad to continue the tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidney, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very good. I used already cooked and shredded pork and still cooked as directed. I added the potato in near the end as I used mashed potatoes. It smelled so good while simmering with the spices, but I didn't taste much of the spices after baking. I didn't top with a crust as I ran out of it, so just folded the edges over. It still worked, just didn't look as pretty as it could have. This is relatively easy and it turns out well; just would like to taste the spices more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicia
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This pie is absolutely delicious! I used ground beef instead of pork and it worked out splendidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is a fabulous and flavorful dish! I have received many compliments on it! Even my Canadian friends (who know what a good Tourtiere should taste like) love this recipe! I do use half ground beef and half ground pork to add a little more flavor, but no other changes are needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Globe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I loved this recipe! I have never had/made meat pie before, so I was very excited to make this. I made the meat filling the night before, and refrigerated it over night. Then I only had to wait an hour before it was ready tonight. It was very good, except next time i am going to add more potato, and maybe carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This had fantastic flavor. I made individual pies for Halloween since I was Mrs. Lovette and my husband was Sweeney Todd. I used a glass to cut the pie crust into the right size for muffin tins and put dough in the tins, put in the meat, and then topped with another piece of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This turned out great, i ground pork twice thru my kitchen aid, added mashed potatoes from left overs, the spices really added a nice flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I like the combination of cinnamon, allspice, and cloves. Turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I used 1 lb. of ground pork and used Idaho instant mashed instead. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States