Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is a fairly traditional Tourtiere. I make mashed potato with just a little milk and butter. NO cloves, and more cinnamon and allspice. The trick is to keep simmering the pork and onion, gradually adding the spice until the flavors meld and water to keep from browning. This can take an hour or more. Taste, taste, taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
We really enjoyed this...the seasonings with the meat were great! Oh- I did use ground chicken because I couldn't find pork. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was an easy recipe and was as good as I any Tourtiere I have sampled before. At the last minute, I decided to use just a top crust, in order to ease my health teacher's conscience. I also used the filling to make two pies: one to eat for dinner and froze one for later. My husband (my biggest critic) and I were surprised at how much we didn't miss the second crust and will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was a HIT with my family! From reading the other suggestions I did use half pork and half ground chuck. I left out the cloves as I know my family, especially my picky kids, wouldn't care for that taste. I did use the all spice which did give it a nice flavor. I cut up about 2 or 3 nice sized potatoes into cubes and added it to the meat mixture per my husband's request. He wasn't keen on the mashed potatoe idea. I also added Lawry's seasoning salt and garlic powder to the meat mixture for added flavor and seasoning and I used chicken broth instead of water and added a little more than the recipe suggested so I wouldn't have a dry pie. As a last minute idea I added a few dallops of sour cream to the meat mixture for a creamier texture. The family didn't notice it but I thought it was a nice touch! I will make this pie again! It's perfect for our cold winters and it's a nice all in one meal. I think I may add a little shredded carrots the next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this for a family party and everyone loved it. I decided to double the recipe at the last minute so wound up using half beef and half pork. Left out the cinnamon-after reading reviews and used more allspice. I also microwaved my potatoes and didnt wind up doubling the water just added enough to let it simmer. Did not use egg or paprika and the top was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Tastes just like my Memere's pork pie. Thank you so much for this recipe. I do have my Memere's recipe however a lot of it is according to her taste buds. The women in the Marquis family get together before the holiday season to make about 12 of these pies. But sadly my family is in New England and I am in Illinois so it was nice to have a taste of home here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very good. Growing up, we would have this after midnight mass every Christmas. My memere didn't have a "written" recipe but this one comes very close. I'm glad to continue the tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidney, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very good. I used already cooked and shredded pork and still cooked as directed. I added the potato in near the end as I used mashed potatoes. It smelled so good while simmering with the spices, but I didn't taste much of the spices after baking. I didn't top with a crust as I ran out of it, so just folded the edges over. It still worked, just didn't look as pretty as it could have. This is relatively easy and it turns out well; just would like to taste the spices more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicia
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This pie is absolutely delicious! I used ground beef instead of pork and it worked out splendidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States