Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This had fantastic flavor. I made individual pies for Halloween since I was Mrs. Lovette and my husband was Sweeney Todd. I used a glass to cut the pie crust into the right size for muffin tins and put dough in the tins, put in the meat, and then topped with another piece of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This turned out great, i ground pork twice thru my kitchen aid, added mashed potatoes from left overs, the spices really added a nice flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I like the combination of cinnamon, allspice, and cloves. Turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I used 1 lb. of ground pork and used Idaho instant mashed instead. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My husband is French-Canadian and LOVES French Meat Pie. I lost my recipe when we were building our home and I couldn't quite remember all the little detail. This recipe is as close to perfect as you can get if you want authentic flavor! I tend not to measure a lot, but I added a little of this and a little of that from teh listed ingredients (also reading the many great reviews and getting some additional ideas) and made two pies. Well, there may be enough for three....I haven't finished assembling...but the meat filling is wonderful. I mashed half of the potatoes and cubed the other half, hubby's preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Aside from baking the potato in the microwave I did everything the same. Turned out great. Goes well with homemade chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is my all-time favorite! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is the second time I have tried to make this dish. I think it really must be a regional taste as it just doesn't go over well at our house. If I were to try it a third time I would leave out the cloves as that is the flavor that just turns us off of this dish. It was also a little dry so I would try to make a light gravy for the meat (without going overboard on it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Made this for my French Canadian BF and we loved it! Will be making for a Christmas brunch party. Used half beef and half pork and whole wheat crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
The flavor on this pie is to die for. It is the exact flavor that pork pie should have! I only simmered the ingredients for about 30 minutes then made it in mini sizes in large muffin pans! Great idea for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States