Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe works great! I traditionally make tourtiere with 1/2 pork and 1/2 veal, but I think this is a matter of personal preference.I think the only change I would make is less cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this recipe! I have grown up on meat pie during Christmas (baked 2 different ways by each of my Memere's) but this is one of the closest recipes I've had to either of them. I do have a couple of recommendations to people who are doing this for the first time. Peal /boil/mash your potato separately and keep to the side. Also, sauteing the onion a little bit before you add the meat helps. I only use about 1/4C of water and it is usually more than enough. Once the water has boiled off, I add the potato and the spices (I use only 1/2tsp cinnamon and 1/2tsp Clove). Like others, I leave out the egg and paprika, but that is because that's how my grandmothers did it. Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Mudgett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelburne, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this last night but halved the cinnamon and put in 1/4 teaspoon of allspice. Also put in 1/2 ground pork and 1/2 ground beef. I drained it after frying and then added spices and water. It was perfect although as I omitted the potato, it didn't stick together. Next time I'll add the potato cooked in the microwave. I also cheated and used pillsbury pie crust - I don't like it for sweet pies but for savoury it is fine. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This recipe is amazing, so so soooo good. And it fills the house with the best aromas! I've made it a few times now and I follow most of BKBishop's changes - use half pork, half beef; don't drain it; sub in red wine; less cinnamon, more allspice and I use boxed mashed potatoes. I make it really easy on myself with the potatoes by adding the dry flakes straight into the meat mix - during the last few minutes of simmering add 2/3 C potato flakes & another 1/4 cup red wine. Mix it up and let it thicken for a few minutes and you're ready to go. (You can add a bit more potato flakes if it needs more thickening.) Overall this recipe is so easy to make but tastes like a gourmet meal. Seriously delicious - thanks Maggie Rogers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This meat pie was pretty good. Note that you should let the pie cool for 15 min to settle, otherwise it will crumble when you cut it into slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Excellent! Made no changes... recommend as is. Makes a nice fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I told my love that I was making this... he said it was all he could think about for the next 2 days until he got some. Excellent as written. Would love to eat this every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! My grandmother used to make meat pies when I was young but sadly she passed away (1991) when I was young and I was unable to memorize the recipe or find out if she ever wrote it down. After making this, I was reminded of her meat pies! I was so happy! It isn't exactly the same but VERY close. Thank you for sharing and bringing back memories of a great time in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TarahLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is a fairly traditional Tourtiere. I make mashed potato with just a little milk and butter. NO cloves, and more cinnamon and allspice. The trick is to keep simmering the pork and onion, gradually adding the spice until the flavors meld and water to keep from browning. This can take an hour or more. Taste, taste, taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
We really enjoyed this...the seasonings with the meat were great! Oh- I did use ground chicken because I couldn't find pork. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States