Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
We love this recipe at my house. I now add any veggies on hand, as well as butternut squash to the potato. It is a go to recipe for those lazy winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Delish! Recommended changes; half the amount of cinnamon called for. Cook the pork and onions separately then drain off some of the fat (there will be a lot). It said to simmer for 1 hour or until very thick - mine simmered for 10 min. and was as thick as I wanted it. It turned out very tasty and the entire family enjoyed it. I served steamed asparagus on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I've made this twice now and it has been a big hit both times. I did modify a few things- I left the cinnamon out (well, I put just a dash) and in its place put almost a full teaspoon of allspice. I also used pound of ground beef and a pound of ground pork instead of just pork. Also I ony used half a large onion. The first time I made it i used a 1 lb. seasoned ground sausage and 1 lb. ground beef. I found that while it was good this recipe is much better with the ground pork/ground beef combo. Even with modifications I give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Used to have this as a kid in Quebec and decided to try my hand at making one. This recipe was perfect and we were happy with how it turned out-tasty and very filling! Didn't have cloves (and live a million miles from a store) so I just left them out but will add next time. This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraZee A

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Perhaps this is an acquired taste. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This one tastes like my memeres from when I was a little girl. A very good base recipe... I have switched it up a little by adding some red wine and a little moe spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This recipe works great! I traditionally make tourtiere with 1/2 pork and 1/2 veal, but I think this is a matter of personal preference.I think the only change I would make is less cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this recipe! I have grown up on meat pie during Christmas (baked 2 different ways by each of my Memere's) but this is one of the closest recipes I've had to either of them. I do have a couple of recommendations to people who are doing this for the first time. Peal /boil/mash your potato separately and keep to the side. Also, sauteing the onion a little bit before you add the meat helps. I only use about 1/4C of water and it is usually more than enough. Once the water has boiled off, I add the potato and the spices (I use only 1/2tsp cinnamon and 1/2tsp Clove). Like others, I leave out the egg and paprika, but that is because that's how my grandmothers did it. Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Mudgett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelburne, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this last night but halved the cinnamon and put in 1/4 teaspoon of allspice. Also put in 1/2 ground pork and 1/2 ground beef. I drained it after frying and then added spices and water. It was perfect although as I omitted the potato, it didn't stick together. Next time I'll add the potato cooked in the microwave. I also cheated and used pillsbury pie crust - I don't like it for sweet pies but for savoury it is fine. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This recipe is amazing, so so soooo good. And it fills the house with the best aromas! I've made it a few times now and I follow most of BKBishop's changes - use half pork, half beef; don't drain it; sub in red wine; less cinnamon, more allspice and I use boxed mashed potatoes. I make it really easy on myself with the potatoes by adding the dry flakes straight into the meat mix - during the last few minutes of simmering add 2/3 C potato flakes & another 1/4 cup red wine. Mix it up and let it thicken for a few minutes and you're ready to go. (You can add a bit more potato flakes if it needs more thickening.) Overall this recipe is so easy to make but tastes like a gourmet meal. Seriously delicious - thanks Maggie Rogers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States