Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Wonderfully easy and beautiful taste. I followed the changes as recommended by @lynmarie: using no water or cinnamon and adding the potato only once meat was cooked. I used puff pastry to save time -awesome! Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipe, I mixed the ground pork with ground beef and served it with a great Chili Sauce (Homemade) from food.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DogsOffLeash
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I felt my memere looking down on me while I attempted to solo making Tourtiere on my own for the first time. I followed this recipe and it turned out awesome! A huge hit with my northern California holiday guests!! I omitted the cloves under duress of my significant other...but wish I had included the cloves. I went light with the cinnamon but a bit generous with the allspice so the pies had that soulful twang. I went with half ground beef, half ground pork...just like Memere used to do! Totally yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Tourtiere has become a traditional dish at our quite international Christmas table. I have been making it for several years. I don't like pork, so I use 1/2 beef + 1/2 turkey - comes out just as delicious. One can also use pumpkin spice since it has a perfect blend of the required spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe, except used instant potatoes. Was almost temped to not cook the mixture on the stove for the full hour. So glad I chose to do so! It made all the difference. Even my hubby liked it. Pie was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamila Low

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was so yummy!!! My husband did like just a little spicey mustard with it.... just a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I used half beef/half pork. I also used instant real potatoes to thicken and I upped the amount of spices as well as used 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup red wine. I chose to not brush the crust with egg and paprika. It turned out beautifully! I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made this with half beef and half pork, as other reviewers suggested. I also made the spice measurements heaping spoonfuls, and didn't bother with the water. Amazing! I will definitely be making this a Christmas Eve tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I loved this, my son liked it and DH thought it was just ok. My mother made something like this once in a while, and it was similar to how she made it. I thought the flavor was just great. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did microwave the potato to save time as another review had mentioned. I'll make this again, but probably not too often since DH isn't crazy about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was easy to make, looked beautiful & tasted pretty good. The only thing I did was salt it at the table. Prepared according to the recipe, the flavors were there but needed the "umph" of that dash of salt at the table. The kids enjoyed it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States