Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I used half beef/half pork. I also used instant real potatoes to thicken and I upped the amount of spices as well as used 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup red wine. I chose to not brush the crust with egg and paprika. It turned out beautifully! I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made this with half beef and half pork, as other reviewers suggested. I also made the spice measurements heaping spoonfuls, and didn't bother with the water. Amazing! I will definitely be making this a Christmas Eve tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I loved this, my son liked it and DH thought it was just ok. My mother made something like this once in a while, and it was similar to how she made it. I thought the flavor was just great. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did microwave the potato to save time as another review had mentioned. I'll make this again, but probably not too often since DH isn't crazy about it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was easy to make, looked beautiful & tasted pretty good. The only thing I did was salt it at the table. Prepared according to the recipe, the flavors were there but needed the "umph" of that dash of salt at the table. The kids enjoyed it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
We love this recipe at my house. I now add any veggies on hand, as well as butternut squash to the potato. It is a go to recipe for those lazy winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Delish! Recommended changes; half the amount of cinnamon called for. Cook the pork and onions separately then drain off some of the fat (there will be a lot). It said to simmer for 1 hour or until very thick - mine simmered for 10 min. and was as thick as I wanted it. It turned out very tasty and the entire family enjoyed it. I served steamed asparagus on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I've made this twice now and it has been a big hit both times. I did modify a few things- I left the cinnamon out (well, I put just a dash) and in its place put almost a full teaspoon of allspice. I also used pound of ground beef and a pound of ground pork instead of just pork. Also I ony used half a large onion. The first time I made it i used a 1 lb. seasoned ground sausage and 1 lb. ground beef. I found that while it was good this recipe is much better with the ground pork/ground beef combo. Even with modifications I give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Used to have this as a kid in Quebec and decided to try my hand at making one. This recipe was perfect and we were happy with how it turned out-tasty and very filling! Didn't have cloves (and live a million miles from a store) so I just left them out but will add next time. This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraZee A

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Perhaps this is an acquired taste. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This one tastes like my memeres from when I was a little girl. A very good base recipe... I have switched it up a little by adding some red wine and a little moe spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States