Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is tremendous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
YUMMY! Even my picky-eater husband loves this recipe. I've done it with one pound each of ground beef and ground pork and did it tonight with three pounds of ground beef (doubled spices). Each time I did with instant potatoes for convenience more than anything. I don't measure the potatoes, just add till I like the ratio (adding more water or milk as needed for consistency). I've always use store-bought crusts (again, convenience). It is AMAZING! With the three pounds of ground beef, I had enough to fill three store-bought pie crusts so I now have two in the freezer. I did use half the cinnamon and a bit more allspice...I might use a little less clove next time, too, but that's a personal thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
GREAT MADE JUST AS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Very good. I browned the ground pork with the onions before adding the water, so I only had to let it simmer for about 20 min. I only added a dash of cinnamon, but also added some thyme and summer savory. I was out of white potatoes, so I mashed a sweet potato instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Wonderfully easy and beautiful taste. I followed the changes as recommended by @lynmarie: using no water or cinnamon and adding the potato only once meat was cooked. I used puff pastry to save time -awesome! Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipe, I mixed the ground pork with ground beef and served it with a great Chili Sauce (Homemade) from food.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DogsOffLeash
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I felt my memere looking down on me while I attempted to solo making Tourtiere on my own for the first time. I followed this recipe and it turned out awesome! A huge hit with my northern California holiday guests!! I omitted the cloves under duress of my significant other...but wish I had included the cloves. I went light with the cinnamon but a bit generous with the allspice so the pies had that soulful twang. I went with half ground beef, half ground pork...just like Memere used to do! Totally yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Tourtiere has become a traditional dish at our quite international Christmas table. I have been making it for several years. I don't like pork, so I use 1/2 beef + 1/2 turkey - comes out just as delicious. One can also use pumpkin spice since it has a perfect blend of the required spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe, except used instant potatoes. Was almost temped to not cook the mixture on the stove for the full hour. So glad I chose to do so! It made all the difference. Even my hubby liked it. Pie was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was so yummy!!! My husband did like just a little spicey mustard with it.... just a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States