Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I didn't change anything except I didn't use the egg/nutmeg at the end and added spices. When I tasted the meat at the end of the hour of simmering I was shocked at how bland it was! I could barely taste the cinnamon. Based on the reviews I thought the flavor would be stronger. I added tons more spices and salt including cayenne powder. I wanted bold flavors, to taste like a meat pie I remember from years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Thanks for the recipe! I lost my old family recipe and happened upon this one. The only difference was I cubed the raw potato and simmered it with the meat (1/2 pork/1/2 ground beef) and spices.I will have to get the ingredients and make some pies for Thanksgiving. My family will be thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
My boyfriend cannot get enough.... I used less spices (personal choice) but stunning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Like many people who have a family history of this recipe, I do not, so I do not have anything to compare this to. I have made this twice now, once with all ground pork and once with lean ground beef. Both were excellent. The first time I followed directions as written. The only difference the second time was that I reduced the water to a third of a cup, a compromise between those who said it was too much water and those who said omit. I used pre-made pie crust both times and omitted the egg wash and paprika. This was a hit in our home with no leftovers. Thank you Maggie, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
So good! I have used the recipe in pie crust , and also stuffed it in a gutted loaf of Italian bread with bacon strips over the top and baked it yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
My Girl Scout needed an internationl recipe and chose this french dish. I had misgivings with cinnomon in the meat but it was very tasty and everyone who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Ultra yummy! I didn't tweak the body of the recipe at all. The texture is perfect! I did tweak the spices a lot though. I used garam masala, cumin, paprika and crushed pepper flakes instead. It made a very exotic, spicy meat pie. Using a half butter, half lard crust made it perfect. Thanks for helping me impress my date. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Very good. I make it with rice instead of potatoes and just salt and pepper to taste. Smother with homemade ketchup. Tastes like Saint Georges du Beauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric G

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Just yesterday I made 4 meat pies. Today this recipe shows up on Pinterest! I'm having company for supper tonight and am serving meat pie with a salad, cranberries, jello and strawberry shortcake. These people have never had it, so should be fun to see what they think. I am French Canadian and the recipe I use I got from making these pies with my grandmother many years ago.Similar but we use 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork. I cook the meat, drain it good and then add the chopped onion, then water, spices are different. We use a heavy dose of sage, a little garlic, salt, fresh ground black pepper and some minced onion bits. I simmer all of this, then start adding the instant potatoes to thicken to the right consistency. I also sneak in a few dashes of cayenne pepper for my Scott Irish husband. Just to give it a slight kick. I am wondering why we use sage and others are using cinnamon and allspice. There is supposed to be a spice jar sold in Canada that has a mixture of these spices for the pie. Does anyone know what this is called? I also whip up an egg and 'frost' my pies with that and they are a very nice brown when they come out of the oven. I will try some cinnamon and allspice next time instead of sage, just for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is perfect completely as is with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States