Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Delicious meat pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Very good recipe, it would have been nice to know that it can be served hot or cold. As a child we always had it hot before midnight mass Christmas Eve, and cold with cheese and fruit in the morning while we opened selected gifts while parents slept in. I added 1 cup of Pinot Noir red wine to the simmering stage and it all turned out delicious. I remember there being grated morrel mushrooms so I added those too. Merry to all. Emer Dubois
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This was a huge hit at dinner. I tried the half pork/half ground beef variation others recommended and I also browned the meat and simply added the water instead of simmering the ingredients for an hour and I got a perfect moisture level in the end product. I paired it with Corn Chowder I, a watercress salad and some nice wine. Excellent for a cold fall/winter night. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This recipe looked beautiful coming out of the oven, but it didn't have much taste to my family and my husband was not fond of the cinnamon. I used half pork and half beef but the mixture inside didn't have much taste. I reviewed the recipe to make sure I didn't leave any spice out and I didn't. I think perhaps based off of all of the good reviews, this just wasn't our preference. I think I might try again sometime but I will season the meat mixture differently. I did like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
This is the best recipe for tourtiere that I have encountered. It brings back memories of the post Midnight Mass meal and Christmas morning breakfast that my momma would create. (Try a thin slice of tourtiere with 2 eggs of your choice. Delicious.) My only problem is the use of cinnamon. In my mind this spice should be reserved for moles or desserts. A suggestion: Use cooked potatoes cubed 1/4 inch (rather than mash) and saute with the onion and pork until all ingredients are well browned.(This is my own twist). It provides a much nicer texture and flavor. Save and use the fat in the recipe sparingly (that is where the flavor is and the final product won't feel dried out). I give you 4 because of your use of cinnamon, otherwise it wiiuld be 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
My husband's family is french Canadian and this is a traditional dish at Christmas. I have been getting raves ever since I started making it. I usually make it with half pork and half ground beef and I brown the meats and drain the fat off before I do the next steps. I also always double the amount of cloves because to me that is the flavour that should be the most dominant in this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This recipe is the best I have had, everyone was crazy about it.I recommend this recipe tourtierre to anyone , they are better then mom's Nise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This recipe is the exact traditionnal French Canadian tourtière that I've grown up to eat Christmas after Christmas. My grandmother's tourtière tasted exactly like this, except that she never used potatoes, starch or bread crumbs in her tourtière(which she found diminished the taste of the meat and the spices). She simply wasn't puting much of the broth in the pie to begin with. The result was a very tasty tourtière that wasn't runny at all. As for the suggestion of adding other spices and herbs, such as ginger and savoury, well that would perhaps create a different meat pie with a different taste, but that certainly would not be a traditionnal French Canadian Tourtière anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Baked it yesterday evening and ate it straight from the oven with company. Next time I'll bake it, I may mash a larger potato or add some cornstarch, for filling was very runny. Would also try 1/2 ground pork + 1/2 ground veal. Otherwise, excellent, made even better with a dollop of sour cream or some apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Very nice Tourtiere.!!..I'm am French-Canadian, and this recipe is close to my moms. I would suggest adding ground beef with the ground pork. Also bread crumbs can be substituted for the potatoe, and to add 1 tsp curry, 2 tsp ginger, and 3 tsps savoury...this gives it that extra flavour. Angela Himmeroder, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States