Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Tourtiere is a Christmas morning tradition at my parents house. My great-grandmother, Mimi, used to make it when I was younger. She lived to be 105 years young and then my mom took over making the breakfast pie. Our family recipe calls for the meat to be ground 3 times by the butcher so that it is very fine. This recipe, made by my mom, is very, very close to our traditional recipe and it is a lot less work. I have only ever had this delicious pie for breakfast and we always serve it with eggs over easy and fresh fruit. What a pleasant surprise to find a recipe so close to our original that can be made in half the time. This will be made again, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
First time making tortiere. Very easy to follow. Didn't have the cloves, so I used a half teaspoon of allspice instead. My French Canadian family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Like being back in Verdun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I didn't change anything except I didn't use the egg/nutmeg at the end and added spices. When I tasted the meat at the end of the hour of simmering I was shocked at how bland it was! I could barely taste the cinnamon. Based on the reviews I thought the flavor would be stronger. I added tons more spices and salt including cayenne powder. I wanted bold flavors, to taste like a meat pie I remember from years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Thanks for the recipe! I lost my old family recipe and happened upon this one. The only difference was I cubed the raw potato and simmered it with the meat (1/2 pork/1/2 ground beef) and spices.I will have to get the ingredients and make some pies for Thanksgiving. My family will be thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
My boyfriend cannot get enough.... I used less spices (personal choice) but stunning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Like many people who have a family history of this recipe, I do not, so I do not have anything to compare this to. I have made this twice now, once with all ground pork and once with lean ground beef. Both were excellent. The first time I followed directions as written. The only difference the second time was that I reduced the water to a third of a cup, a compromise between those who said it was too much water and those who said omit. I used pre-made pie crust both times and omitted the egg wash and paprika. This was a hit in our home with no leftovers. Thank you Maggie, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
So good! I have used the recipe in pie crust , and also stuffed it in a gutted loaf of Italian bread with bacon strips over the top and baked it yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
My Girl Scout needed an internationl recipe and chose this french dish. I had misgivings with cinnomon in the meat but it was very tasty and everyone who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Ultra yummy! I didn't tweak the body of the recipe at all. The texture is perfect! I did tweak the spices a lot though. I used garam masala, cumin, paprika and crushed pepper flakes instead. It made a very exotic, spicy meat pie. Using a half butter, half lard crust made it perfect. Thanks for helping me impress my date. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlessandraM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States