Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
My husband would give this 5 stars, I would give it about 4, so we will go with 4 haha. It was super easy to make, and I liked it, just not as much as he did.In fact, he liked it so much he ate 3 servings and ate the rest for lunch today, and he never ever eats leftovers. I did not add celery or carrots since I had neither, and I microwaved the potato for a couple of minutes so it wouldn't be undercooked when the pie came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesUtah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Plain City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I've never had Meat Pie (Tourtiere) before, but thought it sounded interesting. Well let me say this was delicious! The only changes I made was to increase the allspice and add a little nutmeg and omit the egg wash and paprika on top. My husband said I can make this again next week it was so good. Thanks for a great recipe, Maggie Rogers. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAUTICOLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
My kids could not get enough of this. It tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick Dragon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is exactly like the recipe i have always used that was passed to me from my dad! I always say you can tweek the seasonings to your personal liking- but this is one of my favorite dishes! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made this for a Christmas day buffet and it was a huge hit with the family. It reminded us all of my French Canadian mother in law's recipe that she made many, many years ago. I am now wanting to pass down these recipes to my grown children and this is one of them. Only thing I changed was to add a bit more salt to taste. I had 2 pounds of ground pork so adjusted the rest of the ingredients accordingly. I used a store bought pie crust for convenience, but remember my mother in law saying a lard pie crust is best for this recipe and to use a bit less than normal since the crust absorbs some of the fat from the pork. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty much as listed and my family really liked it. I doubled the quantity to make 2 pies and I opted to add cinnamon as if only making 1 pie due to the comments about cinnamon I read. Everything else was the same and it was lovely. I would make it again. It had a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Good recipe. Used half beef half pork. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa St.Pierre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Delicious, but next time I would add a sauce to the filling, like the ketchup based sauces I use for my meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. It is always a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Had French meat pie only a couple times since I met my Canadian husband. Made this exactly to the recipe since I wouldn't know how to put my own spin on it. It passed the taste test by the in-laws!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitman, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States