Meat Pie (Tourtiere) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is exactly like the recipe i have always used that was passed to me from my dad! I always say you can tweek the seasonings to your personal liking- but this is one of my favorite dishes! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made this for a Christmas day buffet and it was a huge hit with the family. It reminded us all of my French Canadian mother in law's recipe that she made many, many years ago. I am now wanting to pass down these recipes to my grown children and this is one of them. Only thing I changed was to add a bit more salt to taste. I had 2 pounds of ground pork so adjusted the rest of the ingredients accordingly. I used a store bought pie crust for convenience, but remember my mother in law saying a lard pie crust is best for this recipe and to use a bit less than normal since the crust absorbs some of the fat from the pork. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty much as listed and my family really liked it. I doubled the quantity to make 2 pies and I opted to add cinnamon as if only making 1 pie due to the comments about cinnamon I read. Everything else was the same and it was lovely. I would make it again. It had a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Good recipe. Used half beef half pork. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa St.Pierre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Delicious, but next time I would add a sauce to the filling, like the ketchup based sauces I use for my meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. It is always a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Had French meat pie only a couple times since I met my Canadian husband. Made this exactly to the recipe since I wouldn't know how to put my own spin on it. It passed the taste test by the in-laws!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitman, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
When I was a child my Uncle Joe would make this on Christmas Eve. Now he's gone and so is his recipe.... however this one is just as memorable as his. Now everytime I think of Uncle Joe I make this Tourtiere. Thanks for the great recipe and the memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very good recipe BUT when I make Tourtiere, I use a modern twist. Instead of bread crumbs or mashed potato, I use instant mashed potato flakes or buds (DRY, not reconstituted) and stir until the pork mixture is stiffened but not too dry. The volume of instant potato flakes depends on how wet your meat mixture is. I also increase the Allspice to 1/2 teaspoon and often add 1 clove of garlic, finely minced. Another addition is 1/2 tsp. dried Thyme. We always served our Tourtiere with green tomato ketchup or relish - home made, of course. This pie is good hot, at room temperature or even cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
OMG! So good and easy! This is a regular in our home. With homemade fresh pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States