Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
One of the best sauces I have tried! Super delicious, not acidy; but kind of sweet. Family and friends loved it! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Don't balk at the use of sugar! I'm no sugar fiend, but I add a bit of sugar to all of my tomato sauces. It does not add sweetness. Don't leave it out if that is what you're thinking. It just makes the tomatoes taste better. One tablespoon is not a lot. Some of the recipes I see on allrecipes call for CRAZY amounts of sugar. This is not crazy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is very much like the recipe I've used for years - my aunt was given the recipe by an Italian friend she worked with in California during WWII. I frequently fix a huge batch of this for a church supper, and have always used loose meat, so I have our local Smokehouse meat store trim well and then coarse grind rump roast for the hamburger - the coarser grind makes it a big thicker and 'chewier' - never thought of using link sausage, will try that next time I make it! And I've used the "left-overs" to make chili, stuffed shells and etc. The chili is excellent, just add beans and chili spices and it's very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Russell Bond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I'm very particular about my spaghetti sauces, and I liked that I could make this in the cooker for later. I changed up on the ingredients by adding 1 diced sweet green bell pepper when cooking the Italian sausage and onions. And used New York Style Sausage Company, "Roasted Bell Pepper and Caramelized Onion Sausage" in place of the Italian sausage it turned out fantastic in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckfan69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williams, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My family and I loved this recipe. The only changes I made were to add minced garlic and a splash of red wine to the ground beef while I was browning it. I did not use sausage as I didn't have any, but instead I added another 1/2 pound of ground beef. I added green peppers and fresh mushrooms which I sauteed with the onions, and also added garlic to this mixture. Once in the slow cooker I added another splash of wine and then just let it cook for about 6 hours...It was fantastic! Wonderful blend of flavors! I wish I had made more to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This sauce was good. The taste made it seem like there was supposed to have some sort of chili bean included. It did make enough for a few meals. So I will freeze the rest, but probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made this today and loved it. Had to tweak it just a little because of my families preferences. Didn't use the carrots because my crew wouldn't eat sauce with carrots (you've gotta love the power of a 4&5 year old on your cooking) and I skipped the cheese at the end because I was out. It was still delicious, and I would use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I've always used bottled sauce but recently decided that I want to start making something from scratch. This is the first sauce I tried. I like that it's done in the crock pot. It's not quite as simple as opening a jar but it's not difficult and it's much, much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I had this for dinner last nigh and it was delicious. I did a couple things differently, I used oregano instead of marjoram (did not have any) and used sausage links - mix of hot and sweet- took the casing off and cut into small pieces. I cooked the meats and onion the night before and added them to the tomato mixture and let it sit in the fried overnight. Yesterday afternoon I put I on the crockpot and put it on low for close to 5 hours. Served with spaghetti and garlic bread. Rave reviews! Thanks for the recipe. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I've only EVER had spaghetti sauce from a bottle; this is my first attempt at a homemade spaghetti sauce, and I can tell you it is now my GO-TO recipe! I doubled it, thinking that is the only way to have enough sauce -- wow -- totally unnecessary! My 8qt pot barely could contain it all, and that's after adding 1 diced bell pepper and 8oz of sliced mushrooms. After we eat this tomorrow, I'm going to add the second container of mushrooms. Thank you for sharing! No need to add sugar, we liked it as is, and since it's sitting in the fridge overnight, I know the flavors will blend nicely, and not have that weird after taste I've become resigned to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oweary1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States