Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is so yummy!!! My whole family LOVED this, including my picky one and two year olds! It is a recipe that has been added as a regular to our menu planning. I made just a couple changes. I cut the recipe in half except for the corn and Worcestershire sauce (I used all it called for), and I upped the ketchup. I used a deep dish pie crust and the half recipe filled it perfectly. One thing that I think I will change the next time I make it is that instead of putting the corn on the bottom I'll put the meat mixture on bottom with the corn between the meat and potatoes. When I cut into it to serve the corn just went everywhere. I figured the potatoes would make them "stick" in the pie a little better. Regardless of the minor changes I made, this is a very yummy and hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Excellent recipe!!! Will make this on a regular basis. Didn't change much at all; the only thing I did was increase the cheese on top and left everything else the same. My entire family loved it! I'm now passing it around at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This was great Alicia! I actually had leftover hamburgers which I threw in the food processor with the onion, my own seasonings, the catsup and worcestershire sauce. I took Janices's advice and put the corn between the potatoes and the meat and used lots of good Vermont cheddar. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
SOO GOOD ...My only change was cooking mushrooms in with the hamburg and onion...and hamburg was 1 1/2 pounds so I added one more egg and about tablespoon bread crumbs to hold together a little.. and baked a little longer Husband claims this recipe to be his "new most favorite"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised - this was really really good!! I used a frozen pillsbury "roll-out" crust that had been in the freezer since the holidays. I thawed it out for half a minute in the microwave, and then prebaked it for 10 minutes while I browned the groundbeef. I added about 3/4 cup frozen chopped onion to the beef while it was browning, and while that was going on I made Betty Crocker packaged mashed potatoes in the microwave, which only take 4 minutes. When the beef and onion was done I drained out the fat, and added the rest of the ingredients right in the frypan instead of dirtying another bowl. I doubled the worcestershire and ketchup amounts which worked out fine and gave it a really nice taste. Then I baked it only about 20 minutes since I had already prebaked the crust. Yum. Everyone really liked it, my husband wanted to know what I added to the beef! Next time I'll make two since there wasn't any left for anyone to take to work today! Thanks so much. This is going to be a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by David Martin
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Very easy to prepare. Everyone enjoyed this dish, including my mother-in-law. CHANGES: Browned the crust. Used 4 TBLS ketchup. Layer meat first, corn second, next the potatoes, then 1 cup blended coby & american cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Martin
Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Yummy! I kept the recipe mostly the same. However, I did not use a pie-crust (since I didn't have it and it just adds calories). I simply put the ingredients a casserole dish. I used butter and garlic flavored instant potatoes and mozzarella cheese instead. VERY good! Will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
YUM! This was a great way to get all of the elements of a meatloaf and mashed potato dinner all into one great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Added green pepper. Yummy Yummy Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is an old family favorite. EXCEPT I don't use the crust and I use taco seasoning when browning the meat. I have also used French-cut drained green beans and it's still just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States