Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Yummy! I kept the recipe mostly the same. However, I did not use a pie-crust (since I didn't have it and it just adds calories). I simply put the ingredients a casserole dish. I used butter and garlic flavored instant potatoes and mozzarella cheese instead. VERY good! Will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised - this was really really good!! I used a frozen pillsbury "roll-out" crust that had been in the freezer since the holidays. I thawed it out for half a minute in the microwave, and then prebaked it for 10 minutes while I browned the groundbeef. I added about 3/4 cup frozen chopped onion to the beef while it was browning, and while that was going on I made Betty Crocker packaged mashed potatoes in the microwave, which only take 4 minutes. When the beef and onion was done I drained out the fat, and added the rest of the ingredients right in the frypan instead of dirtying another bowl. I doubled the worcestershire and ketchup amounts which worked out fine and gave it a really nice taste. Then I baked it only about 20 minutes since I had already prebaked the crust. Yum. Everyone really liked it, my husband wanted to know what I added to the beef! Next time I'll make two since there wasn't any left for anyone to take to work today! Thanks so much. This is going to be a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is so yummy!!! My whole family LOVED this, including my picky one and two year olds! It is a recipe that has been added as a regular to our menu planning. I made just a couple changes. I cut the recipe in half except for the corn and Worcestershire sauce (I used all it called for), and I upped the ketchup. I used a deep dish pie crust and the half recipe filled it perfectly. One thing that I think I will change the next time I make it is that instead of putting the corn on the bottom I'll put the meat mixture on bottom with the corn between the meat and potatoes. When I cut into it to serve the corn just went everywhere. I figured the potatoes would make them "stick" in the pie a little better. Regardless of the minor changes I made, this is a very yummy and hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Martin
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Very easy to prepare. Everyone enjoyed this dish, including my mother-in-law. CHANGES: Browned the crust. Used 4 TBLS ketchup. Layer meat first, corn second, next the potatoes, then 1 cup blended coby & american cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Martin
Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
An easy and good recipe! I added minced garlic and several seasonings to the meat (Creole Seasoning, garlic powder, seasoned salt, onion powder and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper) and increased the ketchup to 4 tblsp. I boiled a carrot when boiling the potatoes for homemade mashed potatoes. I sliced half the carrot and put it with the corn and mashed the other half of the carrot in with the mashed potatoes. It turned out pretty well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I also didn't use the pie crust, which reduces the fat a lot. Delicious, comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Very good! I didn't change a thing as far as the ingredients. Per one reviewers suggestion, I put the corn on top of the meat mixture (made perfect sense) and that worked great. Next time I will pre-bake the pie crust because the bottom stayed doughy. I used instant potatoes and a frozen pie crust (I know some cooks would never use either one) so it was a very easy dinner! We will make this again and again. Thank you Alicia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I too "upped" the spices a bit in the meat by adding pepper, garlic and a tablespoon of brown sugar, which with additional ketchup gave it a slightly sloppy joe taste. I blended the cheese into the potatoes rather than having them lay on the top, sprinkling a touch of paprika to the top to give it some color. I sauteed some mushrooms with the beef too. A pre-baked crust worked really well and I didn't want the juice of the corn sogging the crust, so I followed the advice of the other reviewers and put my corn on top of the beef - although I don't know why you couldn't just mix it in as well. It was a nice, hearty winter meal that my meat and potatoes family really enjoyed. I served it with the recipe for Sweet Dinner Rolls and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
SOO GOOD ...My only change was cooking mushrooms in with the hamburg and onion...and hamburg was 1 1/2 pounds so I added one more egg and about tablespoon bread crumbs to hold together a little.. and baked a little longer Husband claims this recipe to be his "new most favorite"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
WOW...my "kids" 33, 25 and 21 LOVED this! I used 1-1/2 lbs. of 93% lean ground beef. Doubled the ketchup and worsteshire,and added another egg. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States