Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I appear to be in the minority here, but I didn't like this that much. The canned corn was not good. I did bake my pie crust for about 15 minutes before I added the meat mixture and it would not have been cooked if I hadn't. I increased the ketsup to 1/4 cup and the worchestershire to 2 Tbsp but it still lacked something in flavor. Not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My husband and picky daughter gobbled this up! I stirred the very well drained corn in with the beef mixture before pouring it into the pie crust, which I had prebaked for 7-8 min at 350. It was easy to throw together for a weeknight meal. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was quite good. I needed to throw something together quick for lunch today, and found this on the ingredient search. For the crust I used a pat-in-the-pan pie crust recipe I found on the internet, because I was too lazy to roll a crust out. (www.exit109.com/~mstevens/lrccookb/PATINPAN.htm) I boiled 3 medium sized potatoes and mashed them up with a little milk and sour cream for the potatoes. When cooking the ground beef, I added about a clove of minced garlic, and when mixing the meat with the binding mixture, upped the ketchup to 1/4 c. as others recommended. Overall, very good, simple, and something that I always have the ingredients around for. We will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I have made this a few times. We enjoy it, and it I like it because it is easy. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe. The second time I made it, I forgot the egg, and couldn't tell the difference. So now I leave it out. I do add a little more ketchup & worcestershire than called for. I also use frozen corn, and the last couple of times I have added a drained can of green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was quick and easy to make, everyone thought it was just ok though. Next time I will precook my pie crust for a while, not something we'll have very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
The family really liked this one. I made it with ground turkey instead of beef. Added 4 tablespoons ketchup and a few healthy dashes of worcestershire. Next time I'll add the condiments sooner in an effort to get the ground turkey more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Too sweet, oddly sweet. The corn and the catsup, probably the main culprits. And the pie crust, maybe. My crust wasn't cooked beforehand, so it wasn't the right consistency. I usually like one-dish wonders, but I won't make this one again. Lose the corn and the pie crust, and spice up the meat seasonings, and use julienned zucchini and squash, perhaps, for starters, but then that'd be a totally different dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is a tough recipe for me to rate because i didn't have any. (i don't eat beef) My husband didn't like it but he is very devoted to my traditional shepherd's pie. I brought some to work and got mixed reviews. It is not as much like a shepherds pie as i thought it would be, but it's not supposed to be. It's a meat loaf pie. I thought it looked beautiful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
yum-o i loved it husband didnt. I doubled or tripled the worshire and ketchup added the meat and corn together. I didnt have a pie crust and for some reason it reminded me of breakfast casserole so i put cressent rolls in the bottom of my dish and baked for 10 min and then finished it off. Very good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Yum, I really liked this one but I ate it with ketchup, tasted much better that way. Used frozen corn instead of canned and probably a little more cheese. Served with Buttery Cooked Carrots (recipe from this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States