Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I thought this was really good. I had to make some changes, like many of the other reviewers. I used frozen pie crusts (not deep dish) so I had way too much filling, so I just made two and froze one for later. I also put the corn in on top of the meat and added a little more Worcestershire and Ketchup to the meat. I thought this was very yummy comfort food and fairly cheap and easy. I will definitely be making again this winter. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Followed suggestion of others to double the ketchup and worcestershire (since I love woozy!) Served with glazed carrots, this was a great comfort food dish and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This recipe is delicious! My husband and my 16 month old twins LOVED IT! I am definitely putting this recipe on my meal plan again for this month. The only changes I made were putting the pie crust in the oven to slightly brown while cooking my beef/onion. When it was draining, I took the pie crust out. I also layered it, beef mixture, one can (15oz) of corn, and topped w/ home made mashed potatoes, and cheese! DELICIOUS! I may add a little bit more ketchup to the mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Awesome. I used instant mashed potatoes and this was a major hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My family really liked this version of sheppard's pie. I used a deep dish pie pan, prebaked the crust and added a little more ketchup. I also layered as follows: meat mixture, corn, potatoes and cheese...turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicora, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Made this twice. First following recipe exactly except could not fit it all in. Maybe my crust was too small. Second time just threw corn, leftover crumbled meatloaf (Rempel's Family Meatloaf from this site), and leftover mashed potatoes on top and froze it. Baked it a few weeks later with a sprinkling of cheddar cheese and that worked great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was pretty good. Although not so healthy. :-( I have made it a couple of times and always follow the recipe exactly. I make the mashed potatoes from scratch but buy the refridgerated pie crust, so it's a pretty easy meal and goes well with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
My whole family loved this. We all went back for another serving and then my 11 yr old went back for 3rds. my husband said it was a keeper. I used 3 potatoes(mashed with butter, milk, pepper, salt) and I used 4 fastfood packets of ketchup and added one tbsp brown sugar to the ground beef mixture. I did not use a pie crust like others suggested. I doubled the cheddar cheese on top. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was pretty good but next time I'll use less ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States