Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is so yummy!!! My whole family LOVED this, including my picky one and two year olds! It is a recipe that has been added as a regular to our menu planning. I made just a couple changes. I cut the recipe in half except for the corn and Worcestershire sauce (I used all it called for), and I upped the ketchup. I used a deep dish pie crust and the half recipe filled it perfectly. One thing that I think I will change the next time I make it is that instead of putting the corn on the bottom I'll put the meat mixture on bottom with the corn between the meat and potatoes. When I cut into it to serve the corn just went everywhere. I figured the potatoes would make them "stick" in the pie a little better. Regardless of the minor changes I made, this is a very yummy and hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Excellent recipe!!! Will make this on a regular basis. Didn't change much at all; the only thing I did was increase the cheese on top and left everything else the same. My entire family loved it! I'm now passing it around at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This was great Alicia! I actually had leftover hamburgers which I threw in the food processor with the onion, my own seasonings, the catsup and worcestershire sauce. I took Janices's advice and put the corn between the potatoes and the meat and used lots of good Vermont cheddar. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
SOO GOOD ...My only change was cooking mushrooms in with the hamburg and onion...and hamburg was 1 1/2 pounds so I added one more egg and about tablespoon bread crumbs to hold together a little.. and baked a little longer Husband claims this recipe to be his "new most favorite"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Very good! I didn't change a thing as far as the ingredients. Per one reviewers suggestion, I put the corn on top of the meat mixture (made perfect sense) and that worked great. Next time I will pre-bake the pie crust because the bottom stayed doughy. I used instant potatoes and a frozen pie crust (I know some cooks would never use either one) so it was a very easy dinner! We will make this again and again. Thank you Alicia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This was very good and simple to make too! I will make it again but add more ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. I used frozen pie crust and instant mashed potatoes, and I upped the amount of ketchup. It was super easy to make, but it's kind of bland. I think that I will try this recipe again, but will add salt and a little bit of brown sugar for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised - this was really really good!! I used a frozen pillsbury "roll-out" crust that had been in the freezer since the holidays. I thawed it out for half a minute in the microwave, and then prebaked it for 10 minutes while I browned the groundbeef. I added about 3/4 cup frozen chopped onion to the beef while it was browning, and while that was going on I made Betty Crocker packaged mashed potatoes in the microwave, which only take 4 minutes. When the beef and onion was done I drained out the fat, and added the rest of the ingredients right in the frypan instead of dirtying another bowl. I doubled the worcestershire and ketchup amounts which worked out fine and gave it a really nice taste. Then I baked it only about 20 minutes since I had already prebaked the crust. Yum. Everyone really liked it, my husband wanted to know what I added to the beef! Next time I'll make two since there wasn't any left for anyone to take to work today! Thanks so much. This is going to be a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by David Martin
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Very easy to prepare. Everyone enjoyed this dish, including my mother-in-law. CHANGES: Browned the crust. Used 4 TBLS ketchup. Layer meat first, corn second, next the potatoes, then 1 cup blended coby & american cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Martin
Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Yummy! I kept the recipe mostly the same. However, I did not use a pie-crust (since I didn't have it and it just adds calories). I simply put the ingredients a casserole dish. I used butter and garlic flavored instant potatoes and mozzarella cheese instead. VERY good! Will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States