Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My husband and picky daughter gobbled this up! I stirred the very well drained corn in with the beef mixture before pouring it into the pie crust, which I had prebaked for 7-8 min at 350. It was easy to throw together for a weeknight meal. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was quite good. I needed to throw something together quick for lunch today, and found this on the ingredient search. For the crust I used a pat-in-the-pan pie crust recipe I found on the internet, because I was too lazy to roll a crust out. (www.exit109.com/~mstevens/lrccookb/PATINPAN.htm) I boiled 3 medium sized potatoes and mashed them up with a little milk and sour cream for the potatoes. When cooking the ground beef, I added about a clove of minced garlic, and when mixing the meat with the binding mixture, upped the ketchup to 1/4 c. as others recommended. Overall, very good, simple, and something that I always have the ingredients around for. We will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I have made this a few times. We enjoy it, and it I like it because it is easy. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe. The second time I made it, I forgot the egg, and couldn't tell the difference. So now I leave it out. I do add a little more ketchup & worcestershire than called for. I also use frozen corn, and the last couple of times I have added a drained can of green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was quick and easy to make, everyone thought it was just ok though. Next time I will precook my pie crust for a while, not something we'll have very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
The family really liked this one. I made it with ground turkey instead of beef. Added 4 tablespoons ketchup and a few healthy dashes of worcestershire. Next time I'll add the condiments sooner in an effort to get the ground turkey more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Too sweet, oddly sweet. The corn and the catsup, probably the main culprits. And the pie crust, maybe. My crust wasn't cooked beforehand, so it wasn't the right consistency. I usually like one-dish wonders, but I won't make this one again. Lose the corn and the pie crust, and spice up the meat seasonings, and use julienned zucchini and squash, perhaps, for starters, but then that'd be a totally different dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is a tough recipe for me to rate because i didn't have any. (i don't eat beef) My husband didn't like it but he is very devoted to my traditional shepherd's pie. I brought some to work and got mixed reviews. It is not as much like a shepherds pie as i thought it would be, but it's not supposed to be. It's a meat loaf pie. I thought it looked beautiful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
yum-o i loved it husband didnt. I doubled or tripled the worshire and ketchup added the meat and corn together. I didnt have a pie crust and for some reason it reminded me of breakfast casserole so i put cressent rolls in the bottom of my dish and baked for 10 min and then finished it off. Very good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Yum, I really liked this one but I ate it with ketchup, tasted much better that way. Used frozen corn instead of canned and probably a little more cheese. Served with Buttery Cooked Carrots (recipe from this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use up some mashed potatoes from yesterday and this is what I decided to try. It was actually pretty good. I wouldn't skip the crust though--that was the best part (I used a ready made deep dish pie crust and pre-baked it 10 min). I also used a cup of frozen corn in place of canned, and doubled the ketchup & worchestire. Oh, and I added an egg, sour cream, and shredded cheese to the potatoes. Then topped it off with more cheese. It seriously took just minutes to prepare and the family ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States