Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was a huge hit with my family; I will definitely make it again. I followed some of the suggestions in the other reviews: pre-baked the pie crust for 10 minutes; doubled the Worchester sauce and ketchup; added one tsp each of chili powder and garlic for extra spice; and put the ground beef mixture as the bottom layer. I also added mushrooms to the ground beef and peas to the corn (frozen, not canned) just because I had them. My mashed potatoes were garlic Yukon Gold, so that added more flavor too. This was a great use of leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My husband and I were not crazy about this one. I thought there were too many mashed potatoes and just nothing special about it. Reminds me of sheperd's pie, but I prefer the sheperd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
We found this dish to be pretty bland. I won't make again, but maybe adding some spices would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I love the concept of this recipe, but it needs some tweeking. I did not make mine in a pie crust, but used a pie plate and just greased it. The meatloaf section of the pie was pretty much just browned burger. Next time I will make meatloaf like i normally do, with saltines, etc. and layer it b/w the corn and potatoes/cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
We really enjoyed this although I made some changes out of necessity. Instead of mixing the hamburg with egg, I used a can of golden mushroom soup. I also added a half of a red pepper, a grated carrot and about 5 mushrooms all of which I needed to use up. I used the delicious Cowboy Mashed Potatoes (also from this site) and I put a can of cream corn over the meat because that is what they did on a local cooking show and I had already bought the cream corn. I think the cream corn made it a little sweet. I sprinkled a little garlic and celery seed over the browning meat. I know it sounds like a lot of changes and I hate it when people really deviate from the recipe and then rate it but it was just so good. Thank you for a thrifty forgiving recipe, Alicia. Oh yes, I did not use any pie crust. I just put the meat in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I usually make a version of this but when I made this the other night my 3 kids loved it...my 9 yr old asked me what I put in it to make them like it! Great recipe...nice w/ a salad and fruit on the side. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjnfagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I loved it and so did my fiance - I added a little extra ketchup because I'm weird and like it, and we baked the crust a little bit before hand because we like a more crispy crust. I used yukon gold instant mashed potatoes - and it turned out SO good. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denae222

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Shepard's Pie with the addition of a crust. I liked it. I used about 3 TBLS of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whataboutdinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This recipe prepared as written is almost flavorless. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was outstanding! I read the other reviews and like others I did not use a pie crust (that sounds disgusting to me) and placed the burger on the bottom of the pie plate with a layer of cheese, a layer of corn, mashed potatoes and another layer of cheese. To give it flavor when I browned the ground beef I put Montreal Steak Seasoning in the burger with some sea salt and garlic. I used bold A-1 steak sauce as well. This was a HIT!!! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States