Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was a huge hit with my family; I will definitely make it again. I followed some of the suggestions in the other reviews: pre-baked the pie crust for 10 minutes; doubled the Worchester sauce and ketchup; added one tsp each of chili powder and garlic for extra spice; and put the ground beef mixture as the bottom layer. I also added mushrooms to the ground beef and peas to the corn (frozen, not canned) just because I had them. My mashed potatoes were garlic Yukon Gold, so that added more flavor too. This was a great use of leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My husband and I were not crazy about this one. I thought there were too many mashed potatoes and just nothing special about it. Reminds me of sheperd's pie, but I prefer the sheperd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
We found this dish to be pretty bland. I won't make again, but maybe adding some spices would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I love the concept of this recipe, but it needs some tweeking. I did not make mine in a pie crust, but used a pie plate and just greased it. The meatloaf section of the pie was pretty much just browned burger. Next time I will make meatloaf like i normally do, with saltines, etc. and layer it b/w the corn and potatoes/cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
We really enjoyed this although I made some changes out of necessity. Instead of mixing the hamburg with egg, I used a can of golden mushroom soup. I also added a half of a red pepper, a grated carrot and about 5 mushrooms all of which I needed to use up. I used the delicious Cowboy Mashed Potatoes (also from this site) and I put a can of cream corn over the meat because that is what they did on a local cooking show and I had already bought the cream corn. I think the cream corn made it a little sweet. I sprinkled a little garlic and celery seed over the browning meat. I know it sounds like a lot of changes and I hate it when people really deviate from the recipe and then rate it but it was just so good. Thank you for a thrifty forgiving recipe, Alicia. Oh yes, I did not use any pie crust. I just put the meat in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I usually make a version of this but when I made this the other night my 3 kids loved it...my 9 yr old asked me what I put in it to make them like it! Great recipe...nice w/ a salad and fruit on the side. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjnfagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I loved it and so did my fiance - I added a little extra ketchup because I'm weird and like it, and we baked the crust a little bit before hand because we like a more crispy crust. I used yukon gold instant mashed potatoes - and it turned out SO good. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denae222

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Shepard's Pie with the addition of a crust. I liked it. I used about 3 TBLS of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whataboutdinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This recipe prepared as written is almost flavorless. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was outstanding! I read the other reviews and like others I did not use a pie crust (that sounds disgusting to me) and placed the burger on the bottom of the pie plate with a layer of cheese, a layer of corn, mashed potatoes and another layer of cheese. To give it flavor when I browned the ground beef I put Montreal Steak Seasoning in the burger with some sea salt and garlic. I used bold A-1 steak sauce as well. This was a HIT!!! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States