Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was just ok for us. I agree that the meat layer was lacking in flavor, and I more than doubled the ketchup and W. sauce. I also added garlic powder and onion powder, but it wasn't quite enough. For a budget meal though, this was good! I used ground turkey and frozen corn, since we don't like canned. I also did the potato layer half potato, half pureed cauliflower. I mashed my potatoes with buttermilk, and to me that was the saving grace of this meal, because that's where all the flavor was! We might try this again, but play around with the meat layer till we get something tastier! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
quick but good...i liked the fact that it had a bread, meat, vegetable, and a starch...the full deal is not that much time...its a keeper for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TLW
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I was really surprisned at how good this was, and how simple. I did add mushrooms to mine, but I feel it had little effect overall. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is our "go to" dinner now! I make sure I always have the ingrediants on hand. It's really fast and easy to make. I too doubled the amount of Ketchup and worcestershire, and as I hate chopping onions, I used dehydrated onions mixed in with the meat & it worked great! I also added a few spices to the meat while it was cooking, (sometimes I use a packet of meatloaf mix) as it was a little bland the first time. Also, as others have suggested, I pre-bake my crust for about 10 minutes before putting everything together. We also sprinkle a little cheese between each layer, which seems to make it stick together a little better. Good reheated too! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was pretty tasty. I did double the amount fo worcestershire sauce and quadruple the amount of catsup. I think it would have been too bland without it. I mixed the egg, onion and beef before I browned the meat, then the catsup and w sauce with just a few minutes to go. I didn't use a crust and i think it was just fine that way. I didn't care for the mashed potatoes I used, but that didn't have an effect on my rating. Real are always better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Just finished eating this for supper. Yummy, all my family loved this even my nine month old couldn't get enough. I did pre-bake the crust for 10 minutes and added more ketchup. When I asked my family to assist me in rating it they all said it was a four star recipe because it was lacking in flavor. I will prepare this dish again however, I will kick it up with more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. I did use more hamburg than called for. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Wonderful comfort food. Like everyone else, I doubled the ketchup and Worcestershire sauce. I laid: meat - pork - mixture (with extra garlic, s&p), thin layer of cheese, corn, mashed potatoes (with red chill pepper flakes) and moderate layer of cheese. I also make it a two pie crust, so I cook it for 30 minutes at 425 until the pastry is lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michpoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great recipe! I don't think the whole thing cost much over $5.00. I didn't have any canned or frozen corn, so used red kidney beans instead.(I did sprinkle a little hot sauce on top of them) I used a 50 cent package of Idahoan garlic mashed potatoes on top and took another reviewers recommendation to double the amount of ketchup & Worcester sauce. Very yummy. Husband loved it. Quick, easy & cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I of course made some changes, but overall I really like this simple dish, and my boyfriend devours it everytime I make it. I doubled the worcestershire and ketchup and added a small amout of italian breadcrumbs, seasoning salt and pepper to the meat mixture, added in some minced garlic while cooking the beef and onions, omitted the corn altogether, and added 2 cloves of garlic in with the potatoes while they were boiling. I also used a combination of chedder and colby and monterey jack to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States