Meat Loaf Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Needed something for a leftover pie crust from Christmas, and this was just the thing. I pre-baked the crust, and used 4 tbsp of ketchup. I didn't have any Worcestershire sauce, so I used some Country Bob's Steak Sauce. It was just a tad bland, so I'll add a little bit of mustard to the meat mixture next time to give it a little more flavor. Other than that, it was a winner with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trekmiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was so yummy! What a great way to use up left over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I did not make this in a pie shell and just layered the beef mix, corn and potatoes in a 9X9 casserole dish instead of in a pie shell. I eyeballed the seasonings, but I think I must have doubled the amount of ketchup and worcestershire. To increase our vegetable intake, I added diced carrot and red pepper in with the beef mix. I served with green salad on the side and ketchup on top of the potatoes. It is a bit of work but it's a great recipe if you have a load of mashed potatoes you have to use up. I've made this about 5 times, so I will be sure to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is a really good base recipe that you can tweak according to your family's taste. I was looking for a recipe to use one frozen pie crust and this was perfect. I parbaked the crust for 10 mins but that wan't long enough. The crust still tasted a little doughy. I also cooked up a few more veggies and added spices to the meat mixture. I loved the corn layer. I also broiled it after cook time was done to get a little more of a crisp cheese crust on top. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Easy to make dinner. Followed the recipe exactly, but the taste was a bit bland for some of my family members. Will definitely make again, but with 2 tbsp of ketchup and sauce to make the flavour better. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
We love this! The only thing I do that is different is I do not use a pie crust. I put it in a pie pan, meat first, then corn, potatoes and top it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was okay as is! It was a little bland though. I will spice it up a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I was excited about this recipe, but a little let down. It seemed a little bland, I would have liked more seasoning in the meat, to give it more of a meatloaf taste. Also didn't enjoy the taste of the pie crust mixed in. Overall it was super easy to make, and I already had everything needed to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Made this for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved it. I played with seasoning a bit, but overall it is a very simple, quick, filling and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I am sorry this is just so over rated and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divaluangraj

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States