Meat Filled Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was excellent! Followed the recipe exactly, and I and my husband love how it tasted. Like others have posted, I used ziplock bag with the corner cut off for stuffing the manicotti. I will definitely be making this again - thanks for a simple yet delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Good basic recipe but I needed to make some changes to make it more authentic. Specifically: Added one small chopped onion and 2 cloves minced garlic and sautéed with the meat; used whole milk ricotta instead of cottage cheese and subbed one whole egg for the whites; and added dried basil also to the meat mixture as well as a pinch of nutmeg when mixing into the cheeses. Baked as directed. They were delicious served with a green salad and garlic toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Simple and easy. I went with a few revisions after reading reviews.. first I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese.. then I did as some others suggested and did NOT boil the noodles first, and also just used 1 whole egg instead of the egg whites. I just used a plain "traditional" jar of spaghetti sauce. I will try this again and use a different sauce, or add more herbs to a plain sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I love this recipe, but stuff jumbo shells instead (way easier). My boyfriend and I prefer it with Alfredo sauce instead of tomato, never any leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I haven't ever made manicotti before, but I made this one and another plain cheese recipe last night. Both were AMAZING and super simple to follow! The only thing I did different was sub ricotta for the cottage - not a fan of cottage cheese, and it is wonderful! Is a huge hit at my house and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Used hot sausage and ground beef. Added onion and garlic, and used ricotta...hard to please my meat and taters guy, but, he was pleased! He even helped me stuff the shells....lol Thanks for posting! goes in my rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I followed this recipe close except I used whole eggs instead of the egg whites and seasoned the meat with garlic pepper. I would encourage everyone to spruce up the meat mixture to your liking. My kids LOVED this. It tastes like lasagna. Also, I took the tip from a reviewer on a different manicotti recipe and used it here. It WORKED and I WOULD NOT lie about it: Do NOT boil the manicotti first. You do NOT need to cook it first. It's easier to stuff it uncooked (I used a pastry bag). Put 1 cup of sauce on the bottom of 13x9 pan. Arrange stuffed manicotti on top of sauce. Add 3/4 cup of water to remaining sauce in the jar, put the lid on it and shake to mix. Pour over the top and sprinkle with cheese. Cover the pan TIGHTLY with foil and bake for 45 minutes. Carefully remove foil (watch out for hot steam), and continue baking for 15+ minutes until cheese is bubbly. The pasta will be cooked perfectly. I can't imagine precooking the pasta......it would be mushy. Don't be afraid of the cottage cheese. It has more flavor and isn't as dry as nasty ricotta:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Very good recipe. I did add garlic powder and season salt to the meat mixture. And 1/2 a small onion finely diced and sautéed with the ground beef. Also didn't use egg whites. One side note. Before you put into the oven cover with foil or the manicotti will dry out on the edges. Uncover the last 15 minutes to let cheese brown. Filling would also be great in lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was a great recipe. The mixture is alot so I suggest that you make two dishes of it and freeze one for a later date. I would also recommend adding an extra cup of sauce for moisture. All in all it was very good and everyone enjoyed dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I added more spices, Italian seasoning, garlic to meat while cooking, froze half without sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States