Meat Filled Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Not bad, but not spectacular either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Great recipe... However, a little too heavy, so I customized - I used turkey and low fat ricotta and mozzarella. Served with a light side salad, and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Amazing! This was my first time making manicotti and it turned out fantabulously. Instead of boiling the manicotti, I boiled water, placed manicotti in, and took it off the stove to make it easier to stuff. I just stuffed it with my fingers; it was very easy. I also used mild Italian sausage in place of beef which gave it a nice flavor. All in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Turned out pretty good! I did add some mushrooms and spinach to the filling because I had some on hand that I needed to use up. A little difficult to stuff the shells, but other than that I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I use sweet italian turkey sausage instead of beef and no boil barilla lasagne noodles. If you soak them in hot water for 5 minutes they are soft enough to fill and roll - it's way less messy than stuffing shells...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This turned out very well for me. For the most part I stuck to the recipe, but I did use ricotta instead of cottage cheese, and added 1 egg, garlic powder and onion powder to the cheese/beef mixture. I used a ziploc bag to fill the tubes of manicotti, which I cooked only 5 minutes, then rinsed in cool water. They were easier to fill that way, but it's important to fry out the burger (or sausage) and make sure there are no largish chunks of meat, because the finer you fry it out, the easier it will be to use a ziploc or pastry bag to fill the tubes. The amount of cheese/beef mixture came out just about right for the manicotti. I liked the amount of a 14 oz. jar of sauce, since I'm not such a great sauce fan, but I rinsed the jar with about 1/4 cup of water, which I added to the pan to make sure the manicotti finished cooking (it did). I topped it with mozzarella and grated Parmigiano Reggiano, then covered it nice and tight with foil and baked it for about 45 minutes. I didn't have any trouble with the cheese on top burning! I guess my top tips are frying out the meat as fine as possible, lining the pan and covering it with non-stick foil, and after you fry out the meat, turn it into a colander and rinse it with cool water to cool off the meat and rinse off any fat. (Don't forget to let it strain to get rid of the water.) That way it won't be hot and melt any of the cheese, and the filling will be easy to handle. It was delicious and there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Dorothy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Wow! Tasted great! I only boiled the pasta for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is a huge hit! I added a few extra things, for one, a little sauce in with the meat towards the end along with garlic, minced onion, italian season vs Oregano (didn't have any) and the classic S&P. We're huge garlic lovers, and I add over seasonings to all my hamburger so what can I say. We also got the whole bottom spaghetti sauce, top alfredo from another recipe here, works perfectly here! I agree that the trick is to only cook the noodles until they are slightly cooked, they'll cook the rest of the way in the oven. Though I filled mine with a spoon, the pastry bags didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very Good! I did what other reviewers suggested and used onion and garlic with the meat, also substituted ricotta. Most importantly, I used half ground beef, HALF MILD ITALIAN SAUSAGE, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Delicious recipe! Easy to make and results in a wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States