Meat Filled Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Tried this recipe for a large dinner party. It was a HUGE hit. A bit time consuming but definitely worth it. I used Ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, and I spiced up the meat with onion & garlic while cooking it. I'll be making this again for our Christmas Open House!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I cut this recipe in half because I was just making it for two. It is so easy and good! I used Italian seasoning instead of just oregano, and I used a whole egg instead of just egg white - it came out fine. I also added a little bit of chopped up onion to the meat while I browned it. Will definitely make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This recipe was great with a couple of changes. The hamburger sounded bland to me so I added a half packet of dry spaghetti sauce mix and it was perfect. I also used 2 whole eggs instead of the whites. 1 whole egg is plenty. If your shells split during boiling, like mine did, split them in half, fill them with the meat mixture and put them in the pan seam side down. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Very good recipe. I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. I ran out of stuffing with 3 tubes left, so I would recommend being generous with the hamburger and cheese so you don't end up with extra shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
My husband doesn't like cheese (he says it leaves a bad taste, yeah, only if it's warm), but he likes ricotta, so I thought this would be a good recipe for him, although I did have to alter it some. I skipped mixing the the mozzarella in with the meat, and added chopped fresh parsley, and 1/2 tsp. of thyme. I actually was contiplating making the meat mixture as if I were making meatballs, I wish that I had & next time I will, as the mixture was sort of "loose", probably due to the loss of mozz. cheese. Well next time I will use ricotta in place of the mozz. and just use a whole egg instead of 2 whites. But this is a keeper, it tasted like ravioli. Thanks Steph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This is such an easy and wonderful recipe. As my husband is an avid hunter, we used elk burger instead of beef burger. I made this for my family for Valentine's Day, served it with garlic bread, a green salad and for dessert . . . Cream Puffs (from this site). It was a perfect dinner! Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Ricotta was used instead of cottage cheese. Having no pastry bags, I stuffed a ziploc baggie with the filling and snipped off one corner. Added the topping mozzerella at the last five minutes. This dish was VERY well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Good, but my cheese burned! I would wait to add it about midway through cooking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Wonderful! I've been looking for a manicotti recipe that was like the ones my mom used to make... I just skipped the cottage cheese since I don't like it!Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
I don't like cottage cheese so we left that and the eggs out and added cheddar cheese instead. My family had these gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States