Meal in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Favorite camping meal ever! Try adding bacon instead of butter,depending on your preference.A little minced garlic and burger seasoning(montreal i.e.) is yummy as well. If you want to speed up cooking time I sugget forming the hamburger into meatballs and maybe substituting canned small white potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anamosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
The general idea is good. But you need to season the meat more than what is said here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
We Love this recipe, been making one like it for years. I usually bake in the oven. They are also really good with zuchinni or summer squash. I spray the foil with olive oil spray & sprinkle all with seasoning salt. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
delicious! Try adding ketchup and mustard with the meat and veggies before cooking. It adds so much flavor. My mouth is watering just typing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Yummy meal in a fun pouch that my kid loves! After reading other reviews I made the following additions for extra flavor: added worchestershire to the meat, sliced celery and a garlic clove to the veggies, sprinked the potatoes with seasoned sea salt, and topped with snips of fresh sage and rosemary from the garden. Easy, delicious, fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htillison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Yum! Great burger alternative for those with a wheat allergy. I mixed ground turkey with bread crumbs, one egg, and spices. I also placed a slice of bacon under each patty before cooking. This worked great with parchment paper instead of foil. Baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Served with pepper jack cheese and ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
We just did this for our cub scout packing during a camping trip. They used similar ingredients minus the butter, but also had tater tots. This was really good too. It was really popular with the everyone including the kids who originally balked at the idea of meat and veggies in a pouch. Also, it was only needed on the campfire for 20 minutes and everything was wrapped in a cabbage leaf first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna
Living In: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great recipe, I have loved this meal since I was a child, try this though, omit the butter, instead add two tablespoons worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very good. We make this recipe every year when we go camping. We do add more seasonings - garlic powder, montreal steak seasoning, and seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is an easily adaptable recipe. Great made in the oven or over camp fire coals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Meatloaf Cupcakes

A savory surprise! Kid-approved meatloaf cupcakes are piped with mashed potatoes.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States