McCormick® Spiced Holiday Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
We made these before Christmas and my first 2 pans came out as blobs. Definitely needed more flour. After adding some, the rest came out better. Next time I will roll them a little thicker, and bake until just done (don't leave them in any longer than you need to). I might add a tad more spice, but I like the 'hint' of spice. It wasn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Surprisingly bland given the spices, with a dry texture. I can't imagine what they would taste like with more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen of Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Turns into cookie blobs. Can't taste the spice very much. Just a blah, flat cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and I added all the required spices, but they still tasted like dry toast. I wouldn't roll them out to the stated 1/8 inch. I will go back to sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Agree--need more flour! One batch came out all blobby, like our cookie men ate way too many cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made these over the weekend, as is. I didn't change anything and I thought they turned out great! Cooking time for my oven was at 350 for 9 minutes. You don't want them too brown, they'll taste burnt. My family enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Just made these and they came out really good. You definitely will need more flour as the dough was sticky at first. Our cutouts kept their shape well and these tasted a little better than plain old sugar cookies. Plan to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Not enough flour! I got cookie blobs - not nice cookies like in the picture. Good taste, but add 3c of flour instead of 2 1/3c to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I tried this recipe because it's like a cross between gingerbread cookies and sugar cookies. We frosted them with a vanilla buttercream frosting, we really liked the flavor and texture of these cookies. The only thing that I was disapointed with was that the cookies didn't keep their shape while baking so we ended up with a bunch of mishaped Christmas cookies that looked nothing like what they were suppose to be, but they still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Fried Chicken

Pump up the flavor with this delicious, healthier oven-fried chicken.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States