Mayonnaise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
So easy to make!!! They have a great slightly tangy flavor. This will definitely be a basic cookie recipe I make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This is the first cookie recipe I've used that my parents actually liked! They were really surprised when I told them I made it with mayonnaise! The batter smelled really funky, but the result was surprisingly good. I used a little more mayonnaise because the dough was really dry, and it turned out really good. I only had low fat mayonnaise (with half the fat), but it still came together. The flavors definitely get better with time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Excellent. Easy to make, but feels good and different because of the mayonnaise ingredient. I did not find the batter too crumbly not to still enjoy making. I added 2 cut in half blueberries on the top before putting in oven. Very good too. Baking turns out well, cooking well on the bottom with softness in the middle (almost doughy but hardens as they cool)Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These really are quite nice, even if the dough smells dodgy. I omitted the vanilla (only because I was out) and added allspice, nutmeg, and cloves, and dusted them with confectioner's sugar after baking. Very lovely whilst still warm with a cup of spice tea on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Easy to make, didn't need any eggs or butter/shortening. Added about 1/4 c more mayo, then divided the batch in half and added 2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa to one batch. Tasted great and VERY quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I'm a cookie lover but not a baker. My husband needed some cookies for an event and I was too lazy to go to the store. I saw this recipe and had the ingredients, so I gave it a try. I made the recipe exactly as written. The only change I made was to press a pecan half into some of the cookies which was good. I had no problem with the dough being crumbly,in fact, mine was sticky. I had to bake a couple of extra minutes. For ease and taste, I give this cookie a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This recipe inspired me. I was out of mayonaise and I used butter and eggs instead. I added a splash of egg nog and a dash of pumpkin spice. Chill the dough. Bake at 350 til golden or until your nose says they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYSTONMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Havelock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
WOW! These are surprisingly good! I was looking for a super easy and quick cookie recipe to make with my twin 2.5 year olds and this one fit the bill because I knew I could make it in the window of their short attention span. But WOW! I added chocolate chips and skipped the final sugar sprinkle. I also used a really good all natural mayonnaise - with canola oil. YUM!! These were perfectly gooey and yummy with no hint of the mayo. I was nervous when I smelled the batter did smell so mayonnaise-ey. So after the first cookie sheet went in I heated up about 1/4c water in the microwave, added 2-3 tbs of cocoa powder to make a paste. I added that to the remaining cookie dough and YUM!!!! (they tasted like a brownie, but I had to work to mix it in -so they looked a bit ugly) But it was really Yummy before that and didn't need it!! ETA - I started making these cookies in a press cookie tin and that made it perfect -because the dough is a bit crumbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I just tried the recipe and it's very good. Simple recipe with easy clean-up and basic ingredients as I don't always have milk and eggs handy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaprem Proeung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
We loved these. I use vegan mayonnaise and they always turn out great. I've made them with vanilla as per the recipe, and I've omitted the vanilla and used cinnamon/cloves/ginger instead. They are delicious either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dae14
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States