Mayonnaise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Crin
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
i had a jar of fat-free mayo that wasn't getting enough attention, so i decided to give this recipe a try. the cookies turned out more like moist muffin tops, but still had great flavor. if you want more of a "guilt-free" treat this would be it, but i think they're much better made with regular mayo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I'm a cookie lover but not a baker. My husband needed some cookies for an event and I was too lazy to go to the store. I saw this recipe and had the ingredients, so I gave it a try. I made the recipe exactly as written. The only change I made was to press a pecan half into some of the cookies which was good. I had no problem with the dough being crumbly,in fact, mine was sticky. I had to bake a couple of extra minutes. For ease and taste, I give this cookie a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
These were pretty good cookies. I tryed making them healthier by using light Mayonnaise, replacing half the sugar with Splenda, and replacing 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour with oat flour. Like one reviewer said, the dough is hard to work with. First it comes out very crumbly and then it turns very sticky making it a messy job to roll into balls. Secondly, if you are a cookie dough addict and you are using light mayo, hold off on eating it because it tastes nasty. And finally, really make sure you flatten the dough out well before baking because these cookies do not spread at all and they will burn on the bottom and be raw in the middle if you don't. Other than that they were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Pretty decent cookies & easy to make. I had no problems working with the dough. They have a slight mayo flavor while they are still warm and it tastes more normal when they cool. I'd love to try variations. I may try adding cocoa as some other reviews mentioned. As others have mentioned, I didn't have many ingredients on hand and this was one of very few cookie recipes that didn't require butter (ot butter substitutes) or eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These really are quite nice, even if the dough smells dodgy. I omitted the vanilla (only because I was out) and added allspice, nutmeg, and cloves, and dusted them with confectioner's sugar after baking. Very lovely whilst still warm with a cup of spice tea on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
So quick to mix up I had them ready before the oven finished preheating! I also made a batch that included approx 1T cocoa powder. Adjust it to your liking. Surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This is the first cookie recipe I've used that my parents actually liked! They were really surprised when I told them I made it with mayonnaise! The batter smelled really funky, but the result was surprisingly good. I used a little more mayonnaise because the dough was really dry, and it turned out really good. I only had low fat mayonnaise (with half the fat), but it still came together. The flavors definitely get better with time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Had I not just tried one, you couldn't have convinced me that a recipe that goes together so fast, with ingredients almost everyone keeps in their pantry and fridge at any given time, could come out so superbly. The mayo didn't skeeve me out, because I have a couple of great cake recipes using mayo. But the ease of making these belies the wonderful result. I grated the zest of one lemon and substituted lemon extract for the vanilla, and the result was a short, gently crispy, sable-textured lemon sugar cookie, good enough to put on your Christmas cookie trays. But they're equally at home as an after-school snack for the kids. I'm certain that the vanilla would be lovely, as well. The dough was quite manageable for me. Crumbly looking, but it balled up easily. Don't forget to flatten, as what you see for height going into the oven is more or less what you get coming out. I got just under 3 dozen, 32 to be precise. To avoid making a difficult, hard-to-work-with dough, be certain to spoon your flour into the measuring cup, (meaning don't scoop the flour into the cup) then sweep to level the top. If you're finding that your dough is unworkably stiff, you've added too much flour, which will happen if you scoop. As written, the measurements are correct. This recipe is a fabulous find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
The Japanese home kitchen is not designed for baking. I tried this, without any kind baking utensils like an electric mixer, and with an oven that looks like (and in fact doubles as) a microwave. Those cookies whic I was able to complete were great (didn't last the day), but the dough was really hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
So easy to make!!! They have a great slightly tangy flavor. This will definitely be a basic cookie recipe I make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States