Mayonnaise Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
So easy to make!!! They have a great slightly tangy flavor. This will definitely be a basic cookie recipe I make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
So quick to mix up I had them ready before the oven finished preheating! I also made a batch that included approx 1T cocoa powder. Adjust it to your liking. Surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
The Japanese home kitchen is not designed for baking. I tried this, without any kind baking utensils like an electric mixer, and with an oven that looks like (and in fact doubles as) a microwave. Those cookies whic I was able to complete were great (didn't last the day), but the dough was really hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This is the first cookie recipe I've used that my parents actually liked! They were really surprised when I told them I made it with mayonnaise! The batter smelled really funky, but the result was surprisingly good. I used a little more mayonnaise because the dough was really dry, and it turned out really good. I only had low fat mayonnaise (with half the fat), but it still came together. The flavors definitely get better with time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
These were pretty good cookies. I tryed making them healthier by using light Mayonnaise, replacing half the sugar with Splenda, and replacing 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour with oat flour. Like one reviewer said, the dough is hard to work with. First it comes out very crumbly and then it turns very sticky making it a messy job to roll into balls. Secondly, if you are a cookie dough addict and you are using light mayo, hold off on eating it because it tastes nasty. And finally, really make sure you flatten the dough out well before baking because these cookies do not spread at all and they will burn on the bottom and be raw in the middle if you don't. Other than that they were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Excellent. Easy to make, but feels good and different because of the mayonnaise ingredient. I did not find the batter too crumbly not to still enjoy making. I added 2 cut in half blueberries on the top before putting in oven. Very good too. Baking turns out well, cooking well on the bottom with softness in the middle (almost doughy but hardens as they cool)Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These really are quite nice, even if the dough smells dodgy. I omitted the vanilla (only because I was out) and added allspice, nutmeg, and cloves, and dusted them with confectioner's sugar after baking. Very lovely whilst still warm with a cup of spice tea on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Easy to make, didn't need any eggs or butter/shortening. Added about 1/4 c more mayo, then divided the batch in half and added 2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa to one batch. Tasted great and VERY quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were edible, which amazed me! However, they aren't going to be my favorite cookie any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Pretty decent cookies & easy to make. I had no problems working with the dough. They have a slight mayo flavor while they are still warm and it tastes more normal when they cool. I'd love to try variations. I may try adding cocoa as some other reviews mentioned. As others have mentioned, I didn't have many ingredients on hand and this was one of very few cookie recipes that didn't require butter (ot butter substitutes) or eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States