Mayo-Free Tuna Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I doubled this recipe bc I was hungry. I made my own hummus from the Easy Hummus recipe on here, so I didn't have roasted red pepper hummus. Instead, I diced fresh red peppers and celery to put in. We don't eat raw onions, so I left those out and made a tuna melt out of this. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Fantastic twist on a classic! I used roasted garlic hummus as that was all I had, added some chopped celery and used half a diced jalapeno as I didn't have a green chile. I wasn't too keen on the sound of the rosemary, so opted just for oregano, which was dried as I didn't have fresh. Super yummy...great idea, never would have thought of this. This will likely be my go to for my tuna sandwiches now, hubby and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Maybe it is just me, but I think the tuna was too dry with only 2 tbsp hummus-- so I practically quadrupled it. My chili pepper was of poor quality-- which I wasn't aware of until I started preparing everything. Next time I will be using marinated/canned chili pepper instead. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I think I just died and gone to heaven. I almost want to cry tears of happiness because of this recipe. I'm allergic to mayonnaise and don't even like it to begin with, and I've been eating my sandwiches with mustard for years. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE mustard, but the hummus adds that "creamy" consistency a true tuna sandwich should possess. THANK YOU SO MUCH, "A Turtle in the Kitchen!" You have made more than my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Easy and delish, I didnt have red pepper hummus so i used olive hummus also did not add the diced green chile pepper. This was awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imedlen
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was really simple and yummy. I only had garlic hummus and a green pepper, whole grain bread. Good and healthy. Crunchy with the pepper. Awesome! This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
What a great idea! I used a can of tuna, red pepper hummus, diced celery, diced roma tomato, oregano, and pepper. I drained the tuna and it seemed a little dry so I added the middle of the tomato. I ate it with Sesame Tarragon crackers made by back to nature. Totally works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
wow! good stuff! I was going to leave out the chopped green chiles, but they were so good! I recommend grilled on a whole wheat tortilla with cheddar jack--mm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadyelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Wow, this was absolutely amazing. I've always wanted to eat tuna salad, but never could because I cannot stand mayo... Maybe not the flavor, I'm not sure. Just the concept of mayo makes me sick. This is an absolute gem. I made this without modifications except I had to use dried versions of the herbs instead of fresh. I will be making this on a regular basis as it is a very healthy option for me and easy to take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States