Mayo-Free Tuna Sandwich Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I used shallot instead of onion and toasted the pita in the toaster over after I filled it which gave a nice crunch. I hate mayo and have eaten DRY tuna salads up until now, never again! I made an arugula and spring green salad tossed in handmade tahini and lemon dressing and topped with pine nuts to complete the meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I loved this!! It might sound strange but I added Dijon mustard, celery, green peppers, curry powder, apples and walnuts to this - skipped the rosemary- and it turned out amazing!Worked really well combining ingredients from other recipes to this one. Great no-mayo base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great idea...tasty and I am glad to have a yummy alternative to mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Great alternative for mayonnaise. This was a healthy, light recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was really tasty! I made it as written and was really pleasantly surprised at how well the flavors blended - there wasn't one flavor that was overpowering. I did make this the night before I ate it, so maybe that helped the flavors all blend. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
eh. maybe i just don't like oregano, but this really didn't do anything for me. I was excited to have tuna salad without mayo, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Well, I have to admit, I was very skeptical about this recipe. While I like all the ingredients individually, I couldn't imagine them together. But I liked it! And a bonus is that it is 3 PointsPlus per serving on my Weight Watchers eating plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Excellent substitution for mayo. Pleasantly surprised, though I used plain hummus. I disliked it when I ate it out of the bowl, but on bread with mustard it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsmdix

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Not my fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I make this wonderful recipe a couple of times a week. The only thing I change is to omit the chili pepper and use a few shakes of Trader Joe's 21 seasoning salute. Then I pile the filling on a whole grain sandwich thin and melt muenster cheese on top under the broiler. This is my favorite way to enjoy tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States