Mayo-Free Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I am testing this recipe this weekend - preparing for that July 4th bash. I am eager to try it as I LOVE Dill and would like to use less mayo dishes this year :) Will update next week. -UPDATE - A HUGE HIT. Excellent recipe - I did have to make one tiny change i used one dill pickle and two smaller sweet pickles because it was what I had on hand - this was truly marvelous thanks so much Laura N. your potato salad is on the official 4th of July Barbecue Party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe as but I did need to make a couple of changes. To reduce the sodium, I only used one pickle and instead of the pickle juice, I used vinegar. My family does not like cilantro so I used a combo of fresh parskey, basil and thyme for the herbs. A great picnic friendly recipe since it needs no refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javaqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Great stuff! I used parsley instead of cilantro, about 1/8 cup red onion instead of 2 green onions, added about 1/2 tsp of celery salt, and doubled the pickle & celery.. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
3.5, used a combination of white nugget and baby red potatoes. Also added more celery and green onion. Miss my mayo potato salad but will try and get hooked on this healthier version!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I am allergic to soy so this recipe fit the bill for me. No mayo makes it healthier also. I had 12 people for dinner and followed the recipe exactly. It was a big hit and I am enjoying the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wow, fantastic, a huge thank you, I have been looking for a dairy free potato salad for a long time, as I miss it.. This tastes great, the only thing I changed was the dressing, I added a non dairy french dressing..And I also tried it with your dressing also good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This has the perfect amount of crunch from the celery and pickles and the dressing is yummy. I've never been a huge fan of mayo dressed salads so this hit the spot for me. I did leave out the cilantro since that seemed odd with the other ingredients. It doesn't have a very appetizing appearance due to the dull green of the pickles combined with the pinkish dressing (from the paprika). I think if I brought it to a party people would look at it suspiciously and it would sit untouched! No problem if you're not taking it on the road though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Easy to make! Tastes good and great for pool parties and barbecues that are outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good! I always make a few mods, but this hit the spot and I didn't miss the mayo/calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was just ok. The vinegar was too much, and I didn't even add in the entire 1/4 cup. It would have been better without the vinegar or with just a dash. The other ingredients went well together, I'm hoping it will taste better tomorrow after being in the fridge all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States