Mayo Free Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this following the receipe and it was really good! Ialso made a custom version for me. Insted of canola I used olive oil, low sodium soy sauce, splenda, omitted the almonds and sunflower seeds. I sprinkled with chow mein noodles and it was awesome. I like this more than the mayo version cole slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soniea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Wow, incredible. I made it sugar free using baking Splenda and the entire family loved it. I didnt have time to refrigerate it, so I put the bowel in the freezer while the bison was on the grill and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I LOVE THIS! I DID CHANGE IT A LITTLE; I ADDED RAISINS, 1/3 CUP; & USED OLIVE OIL. THANKS FOR SHARING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Best mayo free coleslaw I have ever made! You won't miss the mayonaise; the flavor is delicious. This was a big hit with my family! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe is going to be my go recipe for pot lucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Van Beck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This is an excellent dressing for a slaw!! We omitted the sunflower seeds (preference) and used half cabbage and half shredded kale from our garden. Wow...I'm sure this will be a new favorite. I think it would also be excellent with cranberries or a tart apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Another delicious salad! I'm on a quest to use all that is in our fridge. This was a great recipe to use up the half-head of cabbage. I also used up the last of the carrots by shredding them and adding them to the mix. I prepared this in the morning, adding the almonds and the sunflower seeds and served it at dinner time. I did replace the 6 TB of sugar with 4 TB of Stevia and it worked well for our tastes. This could easily become a main dish meal by adding grilled chicken or shrimp. I served this with 'Sweet and Spicy Grilled Shrimp' and 'Stuffed Pea Pods', both from AR. Thanks, Shalvie for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is an interesting recipe. I loved the combination of almonds and sunflower kernels with the cabbage. I cut back the sugar to 3 Tbsp because 6 just seemed way too sweet, and I used closer to 12 oz. shredded cabbage and it was still a very moist salad. I'd make this again because mayo-based salads are so repetitive, but I may have to keep looking for that perfect vinegar-based salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I have made this salad 4 times now and only found it this summer. I needed to find some cabbage recipes since I had 8 large heads from my garden. I took some to my neighbors and she said she doesn't really like cole slaw, but she loved mine. I added apples to one batch, and added carrots from my garden for more color. I also add crasins. I made some for Thanksgiving yesterday and I just added some leftover turkey to it and it is delicious. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe. Next time I will put the nuts and seeds only on what I serve myself because my husband didn't like that part. I am also going to half the dressing because it swam at the bottom of the bowl. Might add dried cranberries too. Great crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLNBARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States