Mawmenye (Lentils and Beef Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This is excellent - sweet and unique, my boyfriend couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I only used 1/2 C raisins because it was all I had on hand. Used green lentils. Hubby, 15 month old and I all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I loved this but my husband did not, so I will make this for me on the nights he can not be home. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
A fantastic combination of flavors. Great for those cooler fall nights when stews keep you warm from the inside. This one quickly became a favoritte in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I loved the flavors but I don't have nutmeg so I changed nutmeg to fenugreek and it was delicious! I also used radish instead of turnip. What a wonderful smell! Mmmm. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It was a hit! I can't believe we ate turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very good! I took other member's advise and cut the figs really small. I am a true believer of flavor so I tripled the spices plus I added another 1/4 cup of turnip (3/4 cup). It was a really big hit! I cook for my boyfriend and our employee for LUNCH, everybody LOVED it. I also changed things around for the crockpot. I cooked the beef in the chicken stock (plus about 3/4 cup) in the crockpot overnight on the "warm" setting. Once I arrived at work (7:30am), I added the turnips and lentils and placed the cooker on low. About an hour before serving, I added the raisins and figs. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Yummy! I didn't have several of the ingredients, so had to substitute (sweet potato for turnip, assorted dried fruit for figs), but it was still a great recipe for using beef stew meat and lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Flavor is a 5, but dish in not too colorful. I will make it again! I substituted potato and onion for turnip (no turnips at the local farmstand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
A little on the sweet side. I would reduce the amount of raisins and also chop the figs into very small pieces. For some reason, my meat turned out a bit too chewy, even though I followed the directions to a T. Perhaps next time I would shorten the browning time in the pan. That being said, it's an interesting twist on stew and has lots of great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States