Maverick Moose Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Good recipe .. I used venison cut into bite-sized chunks rather than ground meat .. added a sprinkle of ground cloves. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Dimitry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Excellent chili and very easy to make! I used ground Alaskan Moose and stuck to the recipe. Topped with shredded cheddar and a little sour cream. I'm a novice cook and this was a success for me. Exceptional chili... thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by High Altitude Miner

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Best chili I've EVER made!!! Only change = I use 2 pounds of either ground deer or ground moose and minus the bell pepper. RAVES every time I make this meal!!! Little bit of shredded cheddar or sour cream or chives or onions on top...whatever your fancy!! IT'S TOTALLY "DA BOMB"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I altered this recipe to suit what I had on hand and it turned out great!! I used 1 10 oz can Rotel, a 12 oz can of diced tomatoes and an 8oz can of tomato sauce. I also replaced the canned beans with dried pinto & kidney beans that I cooked. Instead of using the slow cooker I made mine on the stove and simmered it for about 2 hours. The end result was out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
We're out in Texas so we used ground deer and also threw in some deer sausage. One note: The seasonings tasted better when we added them toward the end - we added ours about 1 hour before chili was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Wonderful with ground buffalo. But it makes too much with too litte meat. I use 1 lb of ground buffalo or ground turkey and ONE can of all the beans and half the bell pepper and onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coleman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IrishMountainGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I love this recipe, I took it from a chili recipe my dad made when I was a child and added my own touch to it. Very easy to do. Make it in the morning and have it that night for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishMountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States