Maurice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Great! Took this salad to a family gathering and was asked to make sure it appeared at the next gathering. Added the dressing and meat to the lettuce just prior to serving to keep the salad fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Larry, what a great recipe---thanks!!! It was emailed to me and I happened to have 2 cooked chicken breasts on hand, and all the rest of the ingredients. Made it for our dinner and we love it. I'm going to try the dressing for egg salad, macaroni salad and maybe even potato salad one day. An added benefit to this is it is LOW CARB!!! My husband and I are on a low carb diet, so I used equal in place of the sugar and it really is very, very low in carbs. Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
As a young woman, my friends and I thought it a great treat to go from the office to what was then called Hudsons on Woodward Avenue for the Maurice Salad. This is a great likeness. Brings back wonderful memories. And my Dutch husband and children love it. It is a global society! Like the other reviewer I use equal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Love this dressing. I use dill instead of parsley and I use 2 tablespoons of the sweet pickle juice instead of the onion juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
My grandmother would take me to lunch at Hudson's on special occasions, and we would always get the Maurice Salad and a popover. Thank you for bringing back all of these wonderful memories for me. (Oh, and your rendition of the salad is delicious too!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is my favorite recipe from the PAA in Pittsburgh. They (and I) chop it all up together, then garnish with a green bell pepper ring and radish rose, instead of the pimento-stuffed olives. I make this for all my holiday dinners and it is always the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is the first rating I've given--and I felt I HAD to. My husband raved about this salad, and I loved it as well. I tend to eyeball ingredients, and I know I added a tad more mustard to the dressing than called for, but it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmidthead05

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Very good recipe! I am living overseas, so I amost always have to adapt my ingredients. I just used turkey lunch meat and low fat swiss cheese. Try adding a tsp of of poppy seeds. I am considering using the dressing as a filler for deviled eggs. Personally, I enjoyed just eating the dressing. I did add less mayonaise..about 1/2 cup and substituted dried onion flakes for the onion juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Excellent salad with many fond memories attached! My go-to recipe for bridal/baby showers. Serve with hard rolls or popovers along with a fruit salad and your menu is done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is EXACTLY the salad I remember from Hudson's Dining Room! I even made the little french hard rolls they used to serve with this and had a very nostalgic dinner! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cobb Salad

This classic main-dish salad stars eggs, crispy bacon, chicken, and avocadoes.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States