Maurice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
I remember this salad as served at the William Penn Hotel in Pittsburgh. This receipt is very close to the original, and very delicious. I will prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Larry, what a great recipe---thanks!!! It was emailed to me and I happened to have 2 cooked chicken breasts on hand, and all the rest of the ingredients. Made it for our dinner and we love it. I'm going to try the dressing for egg salad, macaroni salad and maybe even potato salad one day. An added benefit to this is it is LOW CARB!!! My husband and I are on a low carb diet, so I used equal in place of the sugar and it really is very, very low in carbs. Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
As a young woman, my friends and I thought it a great treat to go from the office to what was then called Hudsons on Woodward Avenue for the Maurice Salad. This is a great likeness. Brings back wonderful memories. And my Dutch husband and children love it. It is a global society! Like the other reviewer I use equal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Great! Took this salad to a family gathering and was asked to make sure it appeared at the next gathering. Added the dressing and meat to the lettuce just prior to serving to keep the salad fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Love this dressing. I use dill instead of parsley and I use 2 tablespoons of the sweet pickle juice instead of the onion juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
My grandmother would take me to lunch at Hudson's on special occasions, and we would always get the Maurice Salad and a popover. Thank you for bringing back all of these wonderful memories for me. (Oh, and your rendition of the salad is delicious too!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
The was an excellent salad for the whole family. I did not have pickles so instead I replaced them with a can of Latino Veggie Mix. It is found near the pickles and olives. It was even easier and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
It seems like a lot of ingredients but it's totally worth it. The dressing tastes better if you leave it in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I'm not familiar with this salad so don't have anything to compare it to, but I wish I had listened to the little voice in my head which said "this is too much Swiss cheese". After picking a lot of it out the salad was very good especially the dressing. I'll try again with less Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is my favorite recipe from the PAA in Pittsburgh. They (and I) chop it all up together, then garnish with a green bell pepper ring and radish rose, instead of the pimento-stuffed olives. I make this for all my holiday dinners and it is always the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cobb Salad

This classic main-dish salad stars eggs, crispy bacon, chicken, and avocadoes.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States