Maurice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is a great salad recipe. However, the dressing doesn't taste even 'similar' to the famous one, IMO. And, I didn't like it at all. It has too prominent egg flavor:tasted just like egg salad blended to a dressing consistency. I would suggest adding only the egg yolk and skip the white, entirely Or, skip the egg in the dressing, and just add as topping to the salad. Add more herbs than just 2 TBSP parsley, try adding green onion, and sour cream too. I could go on... but, I probably should just submit a dressing recipe, instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is a very good main-course salad. I don't have a clue what restaurant the submitter is referring to, but I do know my husband and I enjoyed this salad. We both really liked the salad dressing. Not caring for sweet pickles or olives, I subbed banana pepper rings for the pickles. This is very hardy with all of the meats and cheese, which is why my husband loved it. This was a good choice for dinner, and I served it with fresh strawberries and mangoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and the only thing I've changed is that I add another tsp. of Dijon mustard and sugar. I used to buy the dressing from Macy's but after finding this on All recipes, I can't tell the difference and it's definitely most cost effective to make your own dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I find that for smaller groups, group sO divide the ingredients on top of shredded lettuce, and let each guest apply as much dressing as they wish and slightly toss to combine. I had this salad at the Buggy Works Restaurant in West Bloomfield. Judi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
With the meat and cheese in this salad I tend to think of it more as a main course salad, but dividing this recipe into 12 servings, as the recipe states, would yield rather small servings. I made about a fourth of this recipe which yielded a nice sized salad for one main meal. It was a very tasty basic salad and was a great use of leftover ham. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Larry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This isn't a true Maurice salad without tarragon in the salad dressing. The two recipes I have for it both call for tarragon, which has a distinct taste and gives it that true "Maurice" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is a great adaptation of Hudson's famous maurice salad! (Macy's still offers it on their menu, at least in the Novi, MI store.) My kids have never had the original, but they LOVE this. And getting kids to love a salad isn't easy! Thank you for the recipe, it brings back memories. Now if only I could find out how to make the Canadian Cheese soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This will make frequent appearances on our dinner table. Great salad, omitted turkey and used a bag of pre-shredded lettuce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I grew up in the Detroit area and the Maurice Salad at Hudson's was a classic favorite. This tastes like the real thing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is an awesome salad! I love, love, love it!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cobb Salad

This classic main-dish salad stars eggs, crispy bacon, chicken, and avocadoes.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States