Maureen's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Excellent! Great compliment to any potluck or BBQ. I followed the recipe to the T. I cooked these beans a day in advance for my daughters 2nd birthday party. I warmed them up in the crockpot. Everyone loved them. Not spicy or too sweet. Just right! Thanks for the recipe. Hope ya'll like the picture I posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Fantastic, and a family hit. I think 20 servings is a bit high, atleast not with my family. I thought it was a bit sweet and would cut the brown sugar back to 1/2 a cup. Like other reviewers suggested I made mine in the crock pot and then finished the last half hour in the oven with the lid off. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galloway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Keep an eye on your cooking time. If you prefer a soupier bean, you may want to take it out around 2.5 hours. I took mine out around 4 hours and it was very thick. I can't imagine leaving it in there for 5. Still great flavor but I would have liked it a bit saucier. But despite that, Yumm! These are so delicious. They smell so amazing that its hard to stop sticking my spoon in there! We make this for a meal some times as well as taking it to potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I subbed lima beans for the green beans and garbonzos for the wax beans. I also used turkey breakfast sausage instead of pork to cut fat drastically. This is sooo awesome. It's still too hot to eat and I keep sneaking some anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Try this if you're looking for variations on a baked beans recipe: Saute onions and chopped bacon in a skillet with brown sugar, apple cider vinegar, and a touch or dry mustard. Once cooked and caramelized,add to mixture of the following: Butter beans, kidney beans, lima beans, and any assorted beans to your taste. Mix thoroughly, and put into a glass baking dish, in a 350 degree oven for 45 min. or until bubbly around the edges and center. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These recipe is great!!! Wonderful for a cookout and something a little different (not like the typical baked beans you have at every cookout) We had a cookout with about 15 people and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very good and easy recipe. I used an extra can of kidney and butter beans just to make it a bit heartier. Cooked for only 3 hours - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I made this a couple of weeks ago for a BBQ and everybody loved them. I'm having a BBQ tomorrow and my father asked me to make "those Baked Beans" again and said they are the best he has ever had. Living in the south where we have BBQs all the time that says alot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
The best baked beans I have ever made thanks for a good recipe. I add BBQ sauce also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I gotta be another addition to the 5 stars! It was interesting because I made it the same day my Dad made chili, and although they look similar, the tastes were so different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culturecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States