Maureen's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
These beans were very good! We ate them with rice as a main course. The only modification I made was to put 1/3 the amount of chili powder called for, since I don't like spicy food. It was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by contrachapado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is the number ONE dish that I get requests for!! Excellent when followed exactly although I always try to add something different everytime to the sauce to experiment like honey, jack daniels, ect... Great side dish with the Easter ham!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I have made this several times to excellent reviews. But I don't care what anyone else thinks--I love it! The only changes I make is that I use any type of sausage that I have in the freezer, and I prefer the more spicy dinner sausage. Also, I buy frozen or dried beans when available. It's not too much extra work, and much more healthy without the pthalates from the cans. Be sure to soak the beans the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Tasty. Tasted kind of soupy but it might have been because I used the crockpot. An oven probably would evaporate more of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made this for a recent family holiday. Everyone loved them. I wasn't sure because of the wax beans and green beans, but this was by far the best baked beans I've ever had. Even people who don't usually eat beans liked them. I added pinto beans and a little bacon. Cooked it in a roaster oven for about three hours, uncovered for 1/2 hour. Nice and thick as they should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is a good dish. You won't be disappointed. . . Unless of course you don't like beans and pork sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These were a hit! I did add some molasses though and left out the wax beans because I didn't have any on hand, but added red chili beans (rinsed) Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I do not like beans baked or otherwise and I didn't taste this. I was looking for a baked bean dish for a party of 20+ folks at my house tonight. Everyone who tried this dish, the majority of those attending LOVED it and four asked for the recipe! I couldn't find wax beans so as one reviewer mentioned I subsituted black beans and I cooked it as another reviewer mentioned in a crockpot on high 2 hours and then on low two hours but other then those two things I followed recipe exact. I will be using it again, maybe I might even venture to give it a taste. Thanks for this recipe, based on my guest comments, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Really different beans but my company really liked them. I received tons of compliments! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States