Maui Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I really liked this dressing. As did my wife and in-laws. It was very easy to make (I used Vidilia onions) and went very nicely with my Hawaiian themed dinner I made on mothers day. I made it exactly as listed (I'm not much of an improviser). It made us want to go back to the Islands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Sooooo delicious. Definitely add in the papaya seeds. To keep it seasonal for my neck of the woods, I substituted the lemon with lime. I mixed the dressing with greens, papaya chunks, toasted pine nuts, and celery. Next time I may cut down on the sugar a bit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Uh-mazing. I used cantaloupe seeds that I salvaged from breakfast and toasted at 250 degrees...not sure whether they're the same, though :/ Definitely cut the oil and could have cut the sugar (although my sweet tooth didn't complain!) Otherwise, I honestly didn't want to change the flavor at all, at all, at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This salad dressing is addictive. After I make it I am guaranteed to eat a salad once a day until it all disappears. I didn't have a sweet onion on hand, so I used a regular yellow onion and the onion flavor was quite strong. If you like onion flavor it is delicious. I will remake with a sweet or mild onion too and I might have to give it a 6 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
amazing dressing. i've been unable to find Ken's "sweet vidalia onion" dressing in the store for over a year and can replicate it EXACTLY with this recipe! I put the onion in a food processor to really pulverize it, and i only used 1/3 cup oil. ALSO - halving the entire recipe is enough (for me) to dress a salad made with an entire head of romaine lettuce. RECOMMENDED!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Just the sweet onion dressing I was looking for.(no papaya seeds available) It is very versatile and can be used on a variety of salads. Last night I used it on a salad of spinach, orange pieces and toasted walnuts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krsms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Delicious. Easy. Flexible. What more can you ask of a salad dressing? I've tried variations, which this recipe handles with ease. Mix brown and regular sugar for the 2/3 cup. Add fresh orange juice along with the lemon juice. I haven't tried the papaya seeds because purchasing a papaya almost doubles the cost. When I make this recipe, I find myself ignoring all other dressings for weeks at a time. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
If I could drink this dressing out of the container I would...that's how good it is! I made this tonight to go with a simple green salad and I am officially declaring it my favorite dressing. It is a little on the sweet side, but I didn't mind it, and you could always decrease the sugar to taste. I expected the onion flavor to be overpowering, but it wasn't. It had a mild onion flavor with a hint of sweetness. None of the ingredients overpowered another one, but instead made the perfect blend of flavors. This is definitely going to be one of my go to dressings. I see a lot of salads in my future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Whenever I make dressings, I make a few different kinds at a time, and this is always one of them. It's really, really delicious. I make some changes though: Twice the garlic, less sugar, wet mustard instead of dry, and sometimes a red onion instead of white. This tastes great on other things too. I put it on burritos, use it as a dipping sauce for potato croquettes and french fries, and put it on sandwiches (not too much or it gets messy). I find that the longer it stays in the fridge, the more intense the onion flavor gets, which is something I like. But we eat it so fast that it rarely gets to that point. This dressing is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Really a hit at our Hawaiian-themed dinner party! Very quick to make, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States