Maui Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
amazing dressing. i've been unable to find Ken's "sweet vidalia onion" dressing in the store for over a year and can replicate it EXACTLY with this recipe! I put the onion in a food processor to really pulverize it, and i only used 1/3 cup oil. ALSO - halving the entire recipe is enough (for me) to dress a salad made with an entire head of romaine lettuce. RECOMMENDED!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This dressing was a big hit in my household. I definitely will make this again. I've been looking for a good sweet dressing to always have on hand. This is it. Despite giving it a good review I did give it a four instead of a 5 just because it was sooo sweet. I will probably use just a 1/2 C of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Delicious. Easy. Flexible. What more can you ask of a salad dressing? I've tried variations, which this recipe handles with ease. Mix brown and regular sugar for the 2/3 cup. Add fresh orange juice along with the lemon juice. I haven't tried the papaya seeds because purchasing a papaya almost doubles the cost. When I make this recipe, I find myself ignoring all other dressings for weeks at a time. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I really liked this dressing. As did my wife and in-laws. It was very easy to make (I used Vidilia onions) and went very nicely with my Hawaiian themed dinner I made on mothers day. I made it exactly as listed (I'm not much of an improviser). It made us want to go back to the Islands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Sweet and mildly tangy salad dressing. This has a nice flavor and is quick to put together. My only issue is that it is pretty thin, and that may be because I didn't add the papaya seeds. We also enjoyed this as the dressing for coleslaw. When I make it again, I'm going to add finely diced onions after I remove it from the blender to give it a little texture. Thanks dawny for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
If I could drink this dressing out of the container I would...that's how good it is! I made this tonight to go with a simple green salad and I am officially declaring it my favorite dressing. It is a little on the sweet side, but I didn't mind it, and you could always decrease the sugar to taste. I expected the onion flavor to be overpowering, but it wasn't. It had a mild onion flavor with a hint of sweetness. None of the ingredients overpowered another one, but instead made the perfect blend of flavors. This is definitely going to be one of my go to dressings. I see a lot of salads in my future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Just the sweet onion dressing I was looking for.(no papaya seeds available) It is very versatile and can be used on a variety of salads. Last night I used it on a salad of spinach, orange pieces and toasted walnuts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krsms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I was so hopeful that this would be close to the sweet onion dressing that was my family's favorite for several years before it totally disappeared off the shelf. It is a good starting point but will need some work. The garlic flavor was very strong (and I put garlic in just about everything), the lemon flavor was too noticable, and the consistency was off (too thin). I'm not going to give up though - thanks for a starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Sooooo delicious. Definitely add in the papaya seeds. To keep it seasonal for my neck of the woods, I substituted the lemon with lime. I mixed the dressing with greens, papaya chunks, toasted pine nuts, and celery. Next time I may cut down on the sugar a bit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Whenever I make dressings, I make a few different kinds at a time, and this is always one of them. It's really, really delicious. I make some changes though: Twice the garlic, less sugar, wet mustard instead of dry, and sometimes a red onion instead of white. This tastes great on other things too. I put it on burritos, use it as a dipping sauce for potato croquettes and french fries, and put it on sandwiches (not too much or it gets messy). I find that the longer it stays in the fridge, the more intense the onion flavor gets, which is something I like. But we eat it so fast that it rarely gets to that point. This dressing is highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States