Maui Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Uh-mazing. I used cantaloupe seeds that I salvaged from breakfast and toasted at 250 degrees...not sure whether they're the same, though :/ Definitely cut the oil and could have cut the sugar (although my sweet tooth didn't complain!) Otherwise, I honestly didn't want to change the flavor at all, at all, at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I found this to be just ok. I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Delicious. Easy. Flexible. What more can you ask of a salad dressing? I've tried variations, which this recipe handles with ease. Mix brown and regular sugar for the 2/3 cup. Add fresh orange juice along with the lemon juice. I haven't tried the papaya seeds because purchasing a papaya almost doubles the cost. When I make this recipe, I find myself ignoring all other dressings for weeks at a time. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
amazing dressing. i've been unable to find Ken's "sweet vidalia onion" dressing in the store for over a year and can replicate it EXACTLY with this recipe! I put the onion in a food processor to really pulverize it, and i only used 1/3 cup oil. ALSO - halving the entire recipe is enough (for me) to dress a salad made with an entire head of romaine lettuce. RECOMMENDED!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Just the sweet onion dressing I was looking for.(no papaya seeds available) It is very versatile and can be used on a variety of salads. Last night I used it on a salad of spinach, orange pieces and toasted walnuts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krsms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This dressing was a big hit in my household. I definitely will make this again. I've been looking for a good sweet dressing to always have on hand. This is it. Despite giving it a good review I did give it a four instead of a 5 just because it was sooo sweet. I will probably use just a 1/2 C of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Really a hit at our Hawaiian-themed dinner party! Very quick to make, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Sooooo delicious. Definitely add in the papaya seeds. To keep it seasonal for my neck of the woods, I substituted the lemon with lime. I mixed the dressing with greens, papaya chunks, toasted pine nuts, and celery. Next time I may cut down on the sugar a bit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I really liked this dressing. As did my wife and in-laws. It was very easy to make (I used Vidilia onions) and went very nicely with my Hawaiian themed dinner I made on mothers day. I made it exactly as listed (I'm not much of an improviser). It made us want to go back to the Islands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I really enjoyed this dressing - is light and sweet with a sweet onion flavor. Especially nice for lighter mixed greens - like herb mix or californian mix. I substituted Splenda for Sugar and it was perfectly fine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

All about Onion Powder

Discover the many benefits of having onion powder on hand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States