Maui Girl's Mango Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Lovely pie and easy to put together! Make sure to taste your mangoes before adjustig the sugar. I used champagne mangoes (all I had) and omitted the lemon just because I felt it didn't need any. I made this into a single serving (1 cup mangoes) for my daughter using a remekin and made French Pastry Pie Crust (AR). I think this would be a perfect summer pie, cooled, and have it with an ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This pie recipe seemed very simple and it tasted good except don't uses stringy mangoes because it's very annoying when trying to eat it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
The poster was not kidding when seh said it tastes like apple pie. It really does. FOr my daughter who likes mangoes that was not a good thing....she wanted it to tasted like mango. For my husband who does not like mangoes it was a good thing. I think what happened is the cinnamon overpowers the mango flavor. If I make it again I would cut back on the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Just made this pie tonight, and it was delicious! Husband wants leftovers for work. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
A nice pie! Not as sweet as I thought it might be - tasted like a cross between an apple and peach pie. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
We used four large mangoes and served it with a lemon-vanilla whipped cream. Loved the rich mango flavor. This is a big time keeper in this family and is definitely going with us to the next whatever wherever. Can't wait to experiment with it too. Mango & Blueberry ? Mango & Pineapple ? Mango & Raspberry ? Mango & Peach ? Endless possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
We did enjoy this pie. It was a nice change but somehow felt like an old classic. I did not have lemon juice and it still came out with a very nice consistency. Not too runny or too thick. We likened this more to a peach pie than an apple. Also, other reviewers are correct, this is not an overly sweet pie even with the mangoes being so sweet. If you prefer a sweeter pie you may want to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalyssa10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by diana24
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This pie turned out great! Most of my mangos were ripe, if not a little unripe, making a nice tart pie. All of the sugars balanced out the sourness, making for a pie that resembled peach. Delicious and convenient if you have a bunch of extra mangos. This was the first pie I ever made and was glad with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is a little bland but still enjoyable and a good way to use up mangoes. Don't use the stringy mangoes though. Tastes a little like peach pie. I served it with the vanilla cinnamon whipped cream which was a decadent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made just as stated & both hubby & I loved it. It is like apple pie except not tart. This pie wasn't soggy like apple can make a crust either. Will make again. The only thing I may do & it is minor is sprinkle sugar & cinnamon over the top crust after putting some melted butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States