Maui Girl's Mango Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amyjoy
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Excellent pie! I used less sugar since mangos are already so sweet. Also have to add a little more corn starch for riper/juicier mangos. I added pineapple tidbits to one pie. I prefer it cold for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is a little bland but still enjoyable and a good way to use up mangoes. Don't use the stringy mangoes though. Tastes a little like peach pie. I served it with the vanilla cinnamon whipped cream which was a decadent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
We did enjoy this pie. It was a nice change but somehow felt like an old classic. I did not have lemon juice and it still came out with a very nice consistency. Not too runny or too thick. We likened this more to a peach pie than an apple. Also, other reviewers are correct, this is not an overly sweet pie even with the mangoes being so sweet. If you prefer a sweeter pie you may want to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalyssa10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made just as stated & both hubby & I loved it. It is like apple pie except not tart. This pie wasn't soggy like apple can make a crust either. Will make again. The only thing I may do & it is minor is sprinkle sugar & cinnamon over the top crust after putting some melted butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
We used four large mangoes and served it with a lemon-vanilla whipped cream. Loved the rich mango flavor. This is a big time keeper in this family and is definitely going with us to the next whatever wherever. Can't wait to experiment with it too. Mango & Blueberry ? Mango & Pineapple ? Mango & Raspberry ? Mango & Peach ? Endless possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by diana24
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This pie turned out great! Most of my mangos were ripe, if not a little unripe, making a nice tart pie. All of the sugars balanced out the sourness, making for a pie that resembled peach. Delicious and convenient if you have a bunch of extra mangos. This was the first pie I ever made and was glad with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Just made this pie tonight, and it was delicious! Husband wants leftovers for work. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This pie recipe seemed very simple and it tasted good except don't uses stringy mangoes because it's very annoying when trying to eat it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Lovely pie and easy to put together! Make sure to taste your mangoes before adjustig the sugar. I used champagne mangoes (all I had) and omitted the lemon just because I felt it didn't need any. I made this into a single serving (1 cup mangoes) for my daughter using a remekin and made French Pastry Pie Crust (AR). I think this would be a perfect summer pie, cooled, and have it with an ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
The poster was not kidding when seh said it tastes like apple pie. It really does. FOr my daughter who likes mangoes that was not a good thing....she wanted it to tasted like mango. For my husband who does not like mangoes it was a good thing. I think what happened is the cinnamon overpowers the mango flavor. If I make it again I would cut back on the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States