Matzoh Ball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2000
Though this soup was certainly tasty, it did take a very long time to make. Next time I make this soup I will try to shorten the recipe and cooking time by using chicken broth, and not cooking a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
This was very good. I actually made this just with 4 chicken breasts rather than a whole chicken and it turned out quite good. My guests all enjoyed it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
Yuck! This was a terrible soup. The chicken soup itself was flavorless and the matzo balls were gross! I made a kishka bread along with it and it was terrible too. Blech!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Here is how to make this recipe easy, very easy, and tasty: Use chicken broth (preferably organic), use Swanson pre-cooked, cubed chicken in a pouch (perfect chicken and no draining required). I add garlic and a bay leaf for additional flavor. You can also use egg whites to lower the cholesterol count whne making the Matzo Balls. There now its perfect, easy and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Original review 7/9: This is basically a good recipe, Holly. But grebenes and schmaltz? Why would anyone want to make life so difficult? For the Matzoh Balls, I just used the Manishewitz mix. They come out perfect every time. Follow the package instructions, cook separately and add to the soup at the end. As to the soup, I did add the chicken back to mine. I added twice as many carrots, and 3 stalks of celery. I added the whole onions at this point, and removed before serving. Cut the amount of dill by half, added seasoned salt, garlic powder, turmeric, a bay leaf and dried parsley. And found I needed to add a couple of Tbsps. Chicken Flavored Better than Boullion to bring out the flavor. Otherwise, and without the extras, it would have been a very bland soup. Thank you. Update 10/13: I just wanted to add that my husband, the Wisconconite, could eat this soup every week, and in fact, drives me crazy with his constant requests for it. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Either people love this soup or don't care for it at all, depending largely on their taste for dill. The opinions of my family and friends are split down the middle. I do use organic, free range chicken broth and Manishewitz mix for the Matzoh Balls, as suggested by other reviewers (thank you for your suggestions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I sliced the onions into thin, round circles instead of cubes. I didn't add dill weed, grebenes or celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tipsuda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Arleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I'll eat any matzoh ball soup especially when I'm ill. If I'm ill, I reach for the Manischewitz tin and if I'm well my secret to perfect matzoh balls is on the back of the Manischewitz matzoh ball mix - the 'secret' of many cooks!! I skip the grebenes and use either pareve margarine or home-made schmaltz (rendered chicken fat). I use parsnips, carrots, celery and onion when making the chicken soup but they're drained out for the finished stock. The finished product is just clear chicken stock, matzoh balls and finely chopped parsley sprinkled on top just before serving. I'm headed for the kitchen to make some soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I always add two packets of HerbOx sodium-free chicken bouillon (powder) and a pinch or two of low sodium kosher salt to bring out flavor in the soup stock. Also, even after skinning the chicken, there's some fat accumulation at top of pot, which is what I use for the matzoh ball mix. You can add another chickeb bouillion in the matzoh ball mix for extra flavor. I use triple-filtered water, bring it to a boil before I add the raw chicken; there's less floating scum at top. Dill is an herb some people don't like, so just use parsely and pepper and it will be like your Jewish mom's. I love preparing this for my Jewish husband. He loves it and it's easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I remember our neighbor made this soup for my mother when she was ill. I longed to find that flavor again since that was at least 4 decades ago. The soup was lovely and it brought back memories. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States