Matzoh Ball Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I sliced the onions into thin, round circles instead of cubes. I didn't add dill weed, grebenes or celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tipsuda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Arleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Used a six-pound roasting chicken, and increased (most) other ingredients proportionately. I couldn't bring myself to add the requested one-and-a-half cups of dill. Perhaps I should have, but I'm not sure I missed it. I, like a lot of other reviewers, used a mix for the matzoh balls ... and they were fine (probably as good as my ex-mother-in-law's ones ... but let's not tell her!) Soup was excellent; the long stewing undoubtedly helped. I strained the broth (removing the veggies; the chicken was already out) before adding the motzoh balls. All got re-united in the end, along with two tablespoons of salt (but remember my proportional increaase), making a slightly salty final product. .. but still very good. Next time (and there will be a next time), I'll cut back on the salt ... and maybe add some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is the real deal. Authentic Jewish-style chicken soup like bubbe used to make. If you don't know what that means, google it. The point of this recipe is to share how chicken soup was made by the family matriarch, not how to make it with store-bought broth and other such shortcuts. If you want to make soup in 2 steps, look for another recipe. We didn't even talk about the chicken feet delicacy yet!! The fat off the top of my soup is now chilling in the fridge, will be incorporated into the matzo balls. By the way, I don't make my balls in the soup, I make a separate pot of broth-only or bouillon or salted water for this purpose, as I don't want to cloud up my soup, and sometimes the balls might fall apart a little. Mmmm, grebenes, u can sprinkle a little on top of your soup, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
We really enjoyed this recipe. I did use organic chicken stock instead of water for flavor. Loved the chicken cracklings in the matzoh balls. Thanks so much for sharing Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I loved it but didn't follow step 4... I just skipped it because I think is unnecessary. I also added a handful of dill instead of the large amount they suggest...dill is very overpowering and I wanted to taste the broth!! I also added some noodles. it's heaven and healing and my favorite soup in the world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
How did you get my granmothers recipe? :) This took me back. One thing though the chicken needs to be an old egg laying hen for the fuller flavour but they must be hard to get these days. My grandmother used to roast the chicken after it had come out of the pan. The other thing was chicken schmaltz on a matzoh , not the done thing today but one now and again can't hurt. Thanks for taking the time in posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2000
Though this soup was certainly tasty, it did take a very long time to make. Next time I make this soup I will try to shorten the recipe and cooking time by using chicken broth, and not cooking a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I'll eat any matzoh ball soup especially when I'm ill. If I'm ill, I reach for the Manischewitz tin and if I'm well my secret to perfect matzoh balls is on the back of the Manischewitz matzoh ball mix - the 'secret' of many cooks!! I skip the grebenes and use either pareve margarine or home-made schmaltz (rendered chicken fat). I use parsnips, carrots, celery and onion when making the chicken soup but they're drained out for the finished stock. The finished product is just clear chicken stock, matzoh balls and finely chopped parsley sprinkled on top just before serving. I'm headed for the kitchen to make some soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I always add two packets of HerbOx sodium-free chicken bouillon (powder) and a pinch or two of low sodium kosher salt to bring out flavor in the soup stock. Also, even after skinning the chicken, there's some fat accumulation at top of pot, which is what I use for the matzoh ball mix. You can add another chickeb bouillion in the matzoh ball mix for extra flavor. I use triple-filtered water, bring it to a boil before I add the raw chicken; there's less floating scum at top. Dill is an herb some people don't like, so just use parsely and pepper and it will be like your Jewish mom's. I love preparing this for my Jewish husband. He loves it and it's easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I remember our neighbor made this soup for my mother when she was ill. I longed to find that flavor again since that was at least 4 decades ago. The soup was lovely and it brought back memories. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States