Matzo Brei Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
try this with lox and onion. Break up small pieces of nova scotia lox and saute onion in butter or just add to the egg mixture if you like. I run the matzoh over warm water very fast. Use 2-3 pieces and 1-2 eggs for 2 ppl. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is very close to how my mom made it. I like mine a little bit more "eggy" so I will do three or four eggs (beaten with a hand mixer) per recipe. I also use butter instead of oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Another classic recipe. Leave out the salt and pepper and sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar or some jam for a deliciously sweet passover breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
i would omit the oil for a higher rating. also, i suggest kosher matzo. i didnt try it w/ lemon or S&P, i stuck to the sweet side. im sure it would be great w/ brie and a great blanc de noirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Whenever i make matzo brei, i cook it in either butter or butter flavored Pam, and serve it savory with sour cream. If i serve it with jam, i never add sugar. It tastes perfect either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I sauteed a little onion in butter, rather than oil, and added the matzo brei mixture when the onions were translucent to make a mixture that I enjoyed even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Joseph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
That was the way my mother made it when I was a child. I make it for myself now by running warm water over a couple of sheets of matzoh until I feel they are well soaked. Then break the matzoh into pieces (not too Small) then soak them in 2 scrambled eggs, fry it in butter and I prefer it with maple syrup even though I was brought up having it with sugar. It's a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stanbldr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Make it with garlic, onions, and chopped chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I'm surprised nobody mentioned fruit! For a nice healthy breakfast add a pinch of salt, and some fresh berries it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I make this recipe all the time....but I usually "fry" it in Pam, and I cover the "pancake" with sugar before I eat it. It is also good with jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States