Matzo Brei Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
A great jewish favorite. As written this is just OK. I would make a few suggestions...use egg & onion matzoh if you have it. I use butter instead of oil and add some salt, pepper and cinnamon. This is still a rather bland dish (kids like it though). You can even add grated apples, dried fruit, etch to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I sauteed a little onion in butter, rather than oil, and added the matzo brei mixture when the onions were translucent to make a mixture that I enjoyed even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Joseph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I made this like a french toast and added vanilla and cinnamon and served with syrup. I am not Jewish, but this is pure comfort food for my husband. He liked the additions so much that he invited his parents up for breakfast. Even my mother-in-law asked what I did differently and she makes it for her husband this way. Also, I made this dish for my daughter's 5th grade class for their heritage day and only one small portion remained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This recipe is great with tweaking. My Dad used to make this a lot for us growing up. Really play around with it until it is perfect for you. We eat it with my grandmother's homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Whenever i make matzo brei, i cook it in either butter or butter flavored Pam, and serve it savory with sour cream. If i serve it with jam, i never add sugar. It tastes perfect either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I had only had matzo brei with unsoaked matzo. This was a nice variation. Good with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Always a favorite in our home. I like to double the recipe, add 2 Tbs wheat germ and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I generally use butter or butter substitute for frying, 1 Tbs per serving. Served with sour cream and maple syrup, this makes a great lunch for me and my 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Make sure not to crush the Mazto too small, leave pieces bite size or bigger. I always make sure to add Cinnamon to this recipe for extra taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
Very quick and easy. As this is "Matzo French toast" it also goes well with maple syrup or honey, but don't use onion matzo for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Make it with garlic, onions, and chopped chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States